Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.
taviow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

Note that my GPU is fine to run the game. Also, the game very rarely runs fine, but it can happen. Sometimes it doesn't start, "couldn't initialize renderer #0" message. Sometimes it does run, but it's unplayable because of how terrible the performance is.

-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------
Engine build ID 20100818114615

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Setting video mode: 1600 x 900 - 32 bpp
Init Glew...OK
Setting up OpenGL
Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer: GeForce 8800 GT/PCI/SSE2
Version: 3.3.0
Max texture image units: 32
Max texture coord units: 8
Max user clip planes: 6
Two sided stencil: 1
Vertex Buffer Object: 1
Anisotropic filtering: 1
Max Anisotropic degree: 16
Multisampling: 1
Texture compression: 1
Texture compression S3TC: 1
Auto generate MipMaps: 1
Render to texture: 1
Max draw buffers: 8
Max color render targets: 8
Packed depth-stencil: 1
Texture float: 1
GLSL Version: 3.30 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
ShaderModel 2: 1
ShaderModel 3: 1
ShaderModel 4: 1
OGL ATIFragmentShader: 0
Adding engine materials
Initializing DevIL
Vendor String: Abysmal Software
Version String: Developer's Image Library (DevIL) 1.6.8pre Aug 12 2006
Version Number: 168
Adding engine post effects
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing OpenAL
Available OpenAL devices:
0. Generic Software on Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)(OpenAL default)
Trying to open device 'Generic Software on Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)'... Success!
Number of mono sources: 32
Streaming setup: 4 Buffers x 262144 bytes each
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Game Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Adding engine updates
Initializing script functions
--------------------------------------------------------

User Initialization
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Game Running
--------------------------------------------------------
-------- Loading map 'menu_bg.map' ---------
Cache Loading: 1061 ms
Entities: 318 ms
Compilation: 0 ms
Total: 1388 ms
Meshes created: 25
Bodies created: 5
-------- Loading complete ---------
Setting profile: 'Otavio' Path: 'C:\Users\Otavio\Documents/Amnesia/Main/Otavio/'
-------- BEGIN LOAD FROM C:\Users\Otavio\Documents/Amnesia/Main/Otavio/AutoSave_Archives_2010_9_9_23_55_52_0.sav ---------
LOADING SAVE GAME!
-------- Loading map '03_archives.map' ---------
Cache Loading: 4514 ms
Entities: 6768 ms
Compilation: 128 ms
Total: 12053 ms
Meshes created: 410
Bodies created: 92
-------- Loading complete ---------
WARNING: Could not find player start node ''
ERROR: StartPos '' does not exist!
Cache out of date! Reloading collada file 'd:/program files/steam/steamapps/common/amnesia the dark descent/entities/statues/armour_nice/armour_nice_glove.dae'
WARNING: No 'extra scene' element found!
ERROR: Bad normal 5 in mesh d:/program files/steam/steamapps/common/amnesia the dark descent/entities/statues/armour_nice/armour_nice_glove.dae! Length is not 1. Will not cache file!
-------- END LOAD ---------
-------- Loading map 'menu_bg.map' ---------
Cache Loading: 964 ms
Entities: 183 ms
Compilation: 0 ms
Total: 1165 ms
Meshes created: 25
Bodies created: 5
-------- Loading complete ---------
--------------------------------------------------------

Statistics
--------------------------------------------------------
Medium framerate: 14.181022
--------------------------------------------------------

User Exit
--------------------------------------------------------
Saving main config.
Saving user config.
Deleting game modules.
'LuxInputHandler'
'LuxHelpFuncs'
'LuxSaveHandler'
'LuxScriptHandler'
'LuxProgressLogHandler'
'LuxMapHandler'
'LuxMapHelper'
'LuxPlayer'
'LuxInsanityHandler'
'LuxDebugHandler'
'LuxEffectRenderer'
'LuxMusicHandler'
'LuxMusicHandler'
'LuxEffectHandler'
'LuxCompletionCountHandler'
'LuxGlobalDataHandler'
'LuxHintHandler'
'LuxPostEffectHandler'
'LuxPreMenu'
'LuxDebugHandler'
'LuxInventory'
'LuxJournal'
'LuxCredits'
'LuxLoadScreenHandler'
Deleting config files.
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Gui Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Deleting all sets
Deleting all skins
Deleting all gfx elements
Deleting all materials
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Generate Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Scene Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Input Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Done with fonts
Done with scripts
Done with particles
Done with sounds
Done with meshes
Done with materials
Done with Gpu programs
Done with images
Destroyed all textures
Done with sound entities
Done with animations
Done with ent files
All resources deleted
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting Physics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Exiting System Module
--------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------

Deleting game setup provided by user
- Deleting lowlevel stuff.
Physics
Sound
Input
Resources
System
Graphics
Haptic
HPL Exit was successful!

|--Memory Manager Report-------------------------------|
|
| No memory leaks detected. Memory left: 0
|
|------------------------------------------------------|
09-12-2010, 03:00 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

Lower the settings a bit, such as SSAO quality (leave it at medium if you changed to high), samples to 8 and do not use edge smoothing as they are all very demanding features.

Also try and turn off Aero before starting the game to see if that helps.
09-12-2010, 12:17 PM
Website Find
taviow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

(09-12-2010, 12:17 PM)jens Wrote: Lower the settings a bit, such as SSAO quality (leave it at medium if you changed to high), samples to 8 and do not use edge smoothing as they are all very demanding features.

Also try and turn off Aero before starting the game to see if that helps.

I wanted to run it at 1600x900, SSAO quality medium, samples 16, +edge smoothing and everything else.

Sure, I can lower them, it's just curious that it did run fine with those settings selected once or twice.

I'll try and roll back to another driver version or something.

In an unrelated note, why couldn't you let us alt+tab? Whyyyyyyy? ;_;
09-12-2010, 04:30 PM
Find
taviow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

I'm back here to prove my problem is a valid one and it's not just a case of "your settings are too high!"

Here's my problem:

Run the game once, and here it is, 9fps.
[Image: amnesia2010100318490254.png]

Try running it like 10 more times, and voila, here it is:
[Image: amnesia2010100318555435.png]

60fps, the way it was meant to be running.

This is what I'd been trying to explain all along and it's still here, just about a month later.

The game works RANDOMLY. MOST OF THE TIME IT DOESN'T. LOW SETTINGS OR NOT.
10-03-2010, 11:00 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

Have you Windows Aero or something on in the background?

This kind of random behavior usually has to to with either conflicting hardware and/or applications.
10-04-2010, 03:53 PM
Find
taviow Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

(10-04-2010, 03:53 PM)Thomas Wrote: Have you Windows Aero or something on in the background?

This kind of random behavior usually has to to with either conflicting hardware and/or applications.

Well, yeah, Aero is on.

Other than that there's nHancer and d3d overrider.
10-05-2010, 04:42 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#7
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

Aero is known to lower performance on some systems so start by turning that off.
10-05-2010, 08:31 AM
Find
Themathking Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

(10-05-2010, 08:31 AM)Thomas Wrote: Aero is known to lower performance on some systems so start by turning that off.

Yeah, I also have the same problem as the fellow here. My computer can run this game at max settings easily, with like 60fps, but then some days it's so choppy that it takes me 5 minuites to close the game.

Also, it seems to have been affecting my save files to a degree. Sometimes the save files get corrupted and start in some sort of debug mode where the fps is abyssmal, and a lot of fps and "numsounds" information is printed to the screen. Earlier saves won't have it, only some saves that have these issues.

It's also on steam, so will the next steam patch resolve this?

Thanks
10-07-2010, 10:38 PM
Find
Pojoman Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 16
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#9
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

I have actually had this problem as well, but i found a relatively easy solution to it. In my situation this problem always occurred after running some cpu/gpu intensive application then switching to Amnesia. I found just restarting my computer and running the game off of a fresh reboot would cause it to run properly every single time.
10-09-2010, 06:49 AM
Find
ultio Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#10
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Sometimes the game runs sometimes it doesn't, sometimes it just runs very badly.

I'm having the exact same problem as well. I just bought the game a couple of hours ago and I played it with all settings maxed out, except for SSAO, and after taking just a 10 minute break I wanted to just jump right back to the game. But suddenly the perfomance of the game was really bad, going from pretty much constant 60 fps down to 1 fps - 20 fps. This is quite weird, you guys should look into it.

I tried what Pojoman said - restarting the computer - and that actually worked, but it's still not a satisfying resolution to the problem.

My specs:

Windows 7 Professional - 64 Bit
Purchased the game on Steam

Intel Core2Quad Q6600 @ 3 Ghz
Nvidia Geforce 8800 GTS - 512 MB
3 GB DDR2 RAM (800 Mhz)
abit IP35-Pro Motherboard
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - 64 MB - Soundcard


All drivers are up-to-date.
10-13-2010, 12:56 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)