Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to?
Author Message
darkdamp Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Threads: 4
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
How to?

Hi, ive created a map,and it saves it self in /redist folder but, how do i play it?
ive tried to put it in custom stories, but diden´t work. Please have i missed something or how do i play the map i created?

EDIT: Ive tried: http://hpl2.frictionalgames.com/amnesia:custom_story
but still diden´t got it to work.

sorry for my english, im swedish ^^
09-15-2010, 12:41 PM
Find Reply
Hofmannism Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 18
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: How to?

Hehe, I think Frictional Games are also Swedish so you may be able to talk Swedish with them. (I'm Swedish as well.)
09-15-2010, 03:34 PM
Find Reply
ScorpyX Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: How to?

StartPos = "PlayerStartArea_1"

and create this aria in your map
09-15-2010, 04:10 PM
Find Reply
Luis Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 277
Threads: 19
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 9
#4
RE: How to?

(09-15-2010, 12:41 PM)darkdamp Wrote: Hi, ive created a map,and it saves it self in /redist folder but, how do i play it?
ive tried to put it in custom stories, but diden´t work. Please have i missed something or how do i play the map i created?

EDIT: Ive tried: http://hpl2.frictionalgames.com/amnesia:custom_story
but still diden´t got it to work.

What does "didn't work" really mean? Didn't work as in it showed in the custom story list but didn't start when trying? Or as in not showing up at all?

(09-15-2010, 03:34 PM)Hofmannism Wrote: Hehe, I think Frictional Games are also Swedish so you may be able to talk Swedish with them. (I'm Swedish as well.)

Well not everyone at Frictional Games is Swedish Wink
09-15-2010, 04:59 PM
Find Reply
sacroid Offline
Member

Posts: 88
Threads: 11
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: How to?

(09-15-2010, 04:59 PM)Luis Wrote:
(09-15-2010, 03:34 PM)Hofmannism Wrote: Hehe, I think Frictional Games are also Swedish so you may be able to talk Swedish with them. (I'm Swedish as well.)

Well not everyone at Frictional Games is Swedish Wink

Tu tienes sangre española Wink XD

09-15-2010, 09:22 PM
Find Reply
Javist Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 46
Threads: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: How to?

Эх, жаль Русских нет Big Grin Big Grin

unzip, strip, touch, finger, grep, mount, fsck, more, yes, fsck, fsck, fsck, umount, sleep.
09-15-2010, 10:45 PM
Find Reply
Boulipoulpe Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: How to?

Hello,

I have the same problem as darkdamp.

I created a map with a StartPlayer area, then created a subfolder in custom_stories folder with my map and the custom_story_settings.cfg.

But my map doesn't appear in the list after launching game.

Thank you for your help!
09-16-2010, 11:15 AM
Find Reply
Luis Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 277
Threads: 19
Joined: Jun 2006
Reputation: 9
#8
RE: How to?

(09-15-2010, 09:22 PM)sacroid Wrote: Tu tienes sangre española Wink XD
Es posible Tongue Stick to english anyway, most people here are not supposed to understand spanish Smile


Boulipoulpe: could you post the game log after opening the custom story list?
Also, if you can post the contents of the custom_story_settings.cfg file and the folder structure you have in there it would help a lot.
09-16-2010, 11:31 AM
Find Reply
Boulipoulpe Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: How to?

I can't post images so here is a description of my folder structure:

Folder "custom stories" of the game contains just one subfolder that I named "test". In that "test" subfolder I have put test.map and custom_story_settings.cfg. That's all.

Here is what I put in the custom_story_settings file :

Quote:<Main
Name="test"
Author="bouli"
ImgFile=""

StartMap="test.map"
StartPos=""

/>

I also tried to put the name of my StartArea at StartPos line but it doesn't work either.

About the game log I don't know what is it, I only found a hpl.log file, is that it ?

Please notice that I have very few knowledge about game scripting and modding, that's why I may ask for very simple things. Sorry for that.

Thank you Smile
09-16-2010, 12:44 PM
Find Reply
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#10
RE: How to?

If I'm not confused you need to add a script file named same as you map but ending with .hps.

test.map and then make a text file called test.hps and in the text file add:

////////////////////////////
// Run first time starting map
void OnStart()
{
    //Add the Lantern and 10 Tinderboxes when in Debug mode, always good to have light!
    if(ScriptDebugOn())
    {
        GiveItemFromFile("lantern", "lantern.ent");

        for(int i=0;i<10;i++) GiveItemFromFile("tinderbox_"+i, "tinderbox.ent");
    }
}

////////////////////////////
// Run when entering map
void OnEnter()
{

}

////////////////////////////
// Run when leaving map
void OnLeave()
{

}

I've updated the main page of the wiki to be a bit more clear on this.
(This post was last modified: 09-16-2010, 01:14 PM by jens.)
09-16-2010, 01:13 PM
Website Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)