Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Turning Off Ambient Sound
AGP Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 448
Threads: 45
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 23
#1
Turning Off Ambient Sound

As weird as this title might strike you, I've been having the oddest problem.

Tesseract has been such a help to me, but sadly we have both been stumped on this.

In the map there are various ambient sounds set up to play, and for reaching the end of the map, I'd like it to go quiet, as it ends with some narration.

However, we've gone about several different ways of trying to silence it, but nothing has worked, and due to the complexity of the scripting (aka messiness of the hps file) I can't really post just the sound sections, so I've instead attached the whole hps file.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/646u1ng8i67edx...4.hps?dl=0

Thank you in advance for your help. <3

04-14-2016, 06:51 AM
Find
Spelos Away
Banned

Posts: 231
Threads: 19
Joined: Sep 2014
#2
RE: Turning Off Ambient Sound

Be careful with your naming.
In your script, you refer to the non existent timers of:
PHP Code: (Select All)
    RemoveTimer("Soundloop2");
    
RemoveTimer("Soundloop3");
    
RemoveTimer("Soundloop4");
    
RemoveTimer("Soundloop5");
    
RemoveTimer("Soundloop6"); 

What you wanted to do is:
PHP Code: (Select All)
    RemoveTimer("Sound2");
    
RemoveTimer("Sound3");
    
RemoveTimer("Sound4");
    
RemoveTimer("Sound5");
    
RemoveTimer("Sound6"); 

Since you have only one Soundloop1 that triggers Sound(s).
Hope this helps you. Smile
04-14-2016, 07:45 AM
Find
AGP Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 448
Threads: 45
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 23
#3
RE: Turning Off Ambient Sound

The sounds still play unfortunately. Sad

04-14-2016, 08:03 AM
Find
Spelos Away
Banned

Posts: 231
Threads: 19
Joined: Sep 2014
#4
RE: Turning Off Ambient Sound

In that case, there is a good chance that your .snt file has the Loop on.
If that is true, you need to Stop the Ambient sound manually like this:
PHP Code: (Select All)
StopSound("Amb1");
StopSound("Amb2"); 
04-14-2016, 08:19 AM
Find
AGP Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 448
Threads: 45
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 23
#5
RE: Turning Off Ambient Sound

Huzzah! Brilliant! It works!

04-14-2016, 09:16 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)