Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Fatal Error Renderer 0...
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#31
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

bloodysneaker:
Afraid not. Everything about what I can find says your problem is one with drivers. And if you are 100% sure are using the latest drivers and have made a clean install, I am out of ideas at this point.

If you can run it at 640x480, then it might also be a problem of memory. If this is the case then again, it is either drivers or some background application screwing things up.
09-23-2010, 04:50 PM
Find
bloodysneaker Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#32
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

Sad tnx for the help anyway
09-23-2010, 05:34 PM
Find
JoeK Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#33
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

Thomas, I may have a gigantic clue for the issue.

The game magically decided to let me play today, so I started fiddling with the graphics options until I could recreate the problem.

It turns out, having a high resolution (in this case 1920x1080) as well as changing the Shadow Resolution to Medium, causes this error. Having the Shadow Resolution on High or Low works just fine, but Medium with high resolution causes the crash.

I hope this helps point you in the right direction.
09-24-2010, 05:40 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#34
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

JoeK:
It just makes it seem more and more like a driver / memory bug to me. I am beginning to think that it is all very random because something in the background eats up memory. Or that the drivers think something does.
09-24-2010, 02:58 PM
Find
JoeK Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#35
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

Have you guys contacted Nvidia about this?
09-24-2010, 05:34 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#36
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

(09-24-2010, 05:34 PM)JoeK Wrote: Have you guys contacted Nvidia about this?
Yes. And the guy I spoke to could not give any more info without replicating himself. He also pointed to an extension (to give more info) that does not seem to implemented yet. I have posted that RenderFeatTest exe earlier (the last one I posted) in this thread.
09-24-2010, 05:44 PM
Find
JoeK Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#37
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

I'm sorry to hear that. I'm getting a new computer next week (basically everything new *except* my video card). I'll post results after testing on the new one to narrow down causes (i.e. if it's fixed, it's not the video card that is causing it).
09-25-2010, 10:11 AM
Find
JoeK Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 13
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#38
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

I got my new computer, and now Amnesia runs fine. The only part of the computer that is the same as the old one is the video card (Nvidia 9800 GTX+ 512MB).

This means it's NOT a video card issue. I now have 4 more gigs of ram (6 opposed to 2), and a faster processor (3.06ghz intel i7 quad core opposed to AMD dual core ~2ghz).
10-05-2010, 01:47 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#39
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

JoeK:
My guess is that it is some kind of random system thing, where some other hardware and/or applications interferes.

Glad all worked now!
10-05-2010, 08:33 AM
Find
JosephEgenr Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#40
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Fatal Error Renderer 0...

ok so i just bought Amnesia, but when i try to launch the game it crashes telling me that there was a fatal error and that render0 failed, i have the latest videodrivers, and i downloaded the rendertest but it crashed with the same error messege
03-03-2011, 03:42 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)