Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
SkyBox Texture
SLi78 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Threads: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
SkyBox Texture

Hi everyone,

i want to make an outside level.

So, i set skybox active and tried some jpeg's but it doesnt work.

1. Had a skybox texture to be in dds format?
2. Must it be a resolution like 256*256, 512*512,...

If someone can help, would be great.
09-19-2010, 07:26 PM
Find Reply
sTiKy Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: SkyBox Texture

(09-19-2010, 07:26 PM)SLi78 Wrote: Hi everyone,

i want to make an outside level.

So, i set skybox active and tried some jpeg's but it doesnt work.

1. Had a skybox texture to be in dds format?
2. Must it be a resolution like 256*256, 512*512,...

If someone can help, would be great.

A skybox is a collection of six textures arranged to form the inside of a cube. A dds file can hold multiple textures needed to form a skybox, but you need to download some third party software.

http://code.google.com/p/gimp-dds/#Downloads

The Gimp has a plugin for working with .dds files there's also a plugin for photoshop somewhere.

To make a skybox in Gimp you need 6 layers named to their correspondence position in the box (up, down, left, right, back, front.) Once you have these layers named exactly as above when you enter the save dialogue you have the option to save as a volume map. You can then import this into the material editor.

It might take some fiddling around to get things aligned properly but it's not too much of a hassle.
09-20-2010, 01:15 AM
Find Reply
SLi78 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Threads: 6
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: SkyBox Texture

OK, thanks.

I found one texture yesterday which i can use, making one at my own would be to muchUndecided
09-20-2010, 06:00 AM
Find Reply
Jinix Offline
Member

Posts: 111
Threads: 8
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: SkyBox Texture

To easily repaint or create new textures and open or save them as .dds files, I use
Paint.NET it's a really handy program for that... and it's totally free. No whining about upgrading to a paid version either. it's here: http://www.getpaint.net/

Jinix ~~~ZiXiZ~~~ OAP
09-20-2010, 10:12 AM
Find Reply
Rosto Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 17
Threads: 3
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: SkyBox Texture

(09-20-2010, 01:15 AM)sTiKy Wrote: To make a skybox in Gimp you need 6 layers named to their correspondence position in the box (up, down, left, right, back, front.) Once you have these layers named exactly as above when you enter the save dialogue you have the option to save as a volume map. You can then import this into the material editor.

I found that if You'll use Volume Map option in Gimp DDS exporter, the output file is not visible in Material Editor. To make it work, You have to rename the layers as follows: positive y, negative y (for up and down), positive x, negative x (left, right), positive z, negative z (front, back). With those names in place You can use Cube Map export option as intended.


Attached Files
.jpg   DDS_Export.jpg (Size: 21.25 KB / Downloads: 724)
09-22-2010, 02:28 AM
Find Reply
Alienchild Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 8
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: SkyBox Texture

http://www.cgtextures.com/

Look under Skies 360, there you'll find finished cubemaps Smile
09-22-2010, 08:31 AM
Find Reply
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#7
RE: SkyBox Texture

I used this tool for cubmaps:

http://developer.amd.com/gpu/cubemapgen/...fault.aspx
09-22-2010, 10:41 AM
Find Reply
Alienchild Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 38
Threads: 8
Joined: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: SkyBox Texture

Thanks for the tip Thomas Smile
09-22-2010, 10:51 AM
Find Reply
Jinix Offline
Member

Posts: 111
Threads: 8
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: SkyBox Texture

(09-22-2010, 08:31 AM)Alienchild Wrote: http://www.cgtextures.com/

Look under Skies 360, there you'll find finished cubemaps Smile

cgtextures.com has a tutorial how to do cubemaps as well.

Jinix ~~~ZiXiZ~~~ OAP
09-22-2010, 02:03 PM
Find Reply
gosseyn Offline
Member

Posts: 63
Threads: 7
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
#10
RE: SkyBox Texture

can we have a little more information on how to create the skybox dds and what is the exact layout the amnesia engine needs?

I downloaded a jpeg from cgtextures, then i installed the nvidia plugin for photoshop, i open the jpeg then i export it as .dds file, but when i want to save it, the plugin tells me i need 6 different images. I thought that the cubemap jpeg from cgtextures was enough? What do i need to do? Do i have to cut the jpeg into 6 different images? But then, what?
09-24-2010, 02:46 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)