Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Crash on start
xXxIcEy Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 4 Years ago Crash on start

Hey guys, having a problem. As soon as i start the game up it crashes with an exception violation, when the launcher comes up with what settings i want, it says my video device is GDI Generic and when i try to detect my video card (ATI x1900) it says it can not find it. I've tried the recommendations on http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-3754.html but none of them apply to me. I've also tried the patch but it did nothing. Any help?

thanks!
09-24-2010, 09:11 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#2
Solved: 4 Years ago RE: Crash on start

Only that you need to install or reinstall drivers for the graphics card, from the amd.com website and not using windows update or anything similar. Make sure you are running in 32bit colors, that you disable the integrated graphics if you have one of those and that you look in the control panel for the graphics card to see if there is an option to force the use of a specific graphics card.
09-24-2010, 09:15 AM
Website Find
xXxIcEy Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 4 Years ago RE: Crash on start

Okay well, i managed to get it to default to my x1900 and it launches. But when i start a new game, i can hear the intro monologue but the text is about 8-10 seconds behind it, and when its all done i start to see the candle and a hallway but frame by frame, each taking about 10-15 seconds to load, the windows 7 circle comes up acting as if its having a hard time loading it. after a while it starts to fade out to a black screen then just stays there, but i can hear creepy music the whole time. any suggestions?

thanks!
09-24-2010, 04:40 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#4
Solved: 4 Years ago RE: Crash on start

According to the log you have not installed the patch correctly.

Make sure that the Amnesia.exe is replaced.
(This post was last modified: 09-24-2010, 05:51 PM by Thomas.)
09-24-2010, 05:50 PM
Find
xXxIcEy Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 4 Years ago RE: Crash on start

(09-24-2010, 05:50 PM)Thomas Wrote: According to the log you have not installed the patch correctly.

Make sure that the Amnesia.exe is replaced.

hah ya thanks, i tried that after i posted that and it worked, was to busy getting the crap scared out of me to update this, thanks guys!
09-24-2010, 05:55 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)