Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Demo: no save
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago Demo: no save

Bonjour,

J'hésites à acheter Amnesia, principalement car il me fait trop peur Wink Mais j'ai très envie de franchir le pas.

Cependant j'ai une petite question (au risque de passer pour un con): est ce que c'est normal que la sauvegarde ne fonctionne pas dans la Démo ?
Ou comment charge t'on une sauvegarde ?

J'ai joué à la démo, le jeu me dit qu'il sauvegardera pour moi, ok, je quitte proprement 'sauvegarder et quitter' mais quand je relance le jeu le lendemain, il retrouve mon profil mais je n'ai que l'option "commencer une partie", et mes paramètres de contrôles n'ont pas été non plus sauvegardés ...

Question subsidiaire, pour quand est prévu le patch qui permettra de l'installer ailleurs que dans /home sans passer par sudo ?

Merci beaucoup pour cet exellent jeu et votre futur réponse
09-27-2010, 10:23 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

(09-27-2010, 10:23 AM)Shad Wrote: Hello,

I hesitate to buy Amnesia, mostly because I am too frightened) But I really want to take the plunge.

However I have a quick question (it would look like a fool): is it normal that the backup does not work in the demo? Or how to charge you one a backup?

I played the demo, the game says it will save me, ok, I quit properly, save and exit, but when I relaunch the game the next day he found my profile but I only have the option to start a game, "and my settings controls have also not been saved ...

Subsidiary question, for when the patch is provided which will install other than / home without using sudo?

Thank you very much for this exellent game and your future response

(Sorry for the Google translation)
it should be saving your progress. Can you ZIP up your ~/.frictionalgames/Amnesia folder and post it so I can look at it? Also the patch to work in non-home directories will be coming to Linux REAL soon.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
09-27-2010, 01:20 PM
Website Find
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

I don't know why, I was sure Frictional was French O__O
Sorry for this.

Anyway, here is the .zip

If I asked for the patch it's because I though my "no save" issue was linked was the writing issues.


Attached Files
.zip   Amnesia.zip (Size: 4.41 KB / Downloads: 20)
09-27-2010, 05:56 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

The writing issues only affected the main game directory, not the personal save directory. And actually most of Frictional is SwedishSmile And me, Linux and Mac porter, I'm in the USA.

Hmm.. that is interesting... Is your home directory directly on your harddrive or on an NFS share?

can you provide me the output of
ls -lR ~/.frictionalgames/Amnesia

And can you run the game and load the first level, go into the second level and then quit.. Send me the hpl.log that is generated in ~/.frictionalgames/Amnesia/MainDemo/.

Thanks.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
(This post was last modified: 09-27-2010, 08:41 PM by Urkle.)
09-27-2010, 08:39 PM
Website Find
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

Quote:/home/shad/.frictionalgames/Amnesia:
total 4
drwxr-xr-x 3 shad shad 4096 2010-09-27 07:58 MainDemo

/home/shad/.frictionalgames/Amnesia/MainDemo:
total 16
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2010-09-23 08:24 first_start_flag
-rw-r--r-- 1 shad shad 6581 2010-09-27 07:59 hpl.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 shad shad 0 2010-09-27 07:58 hpl_update.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 shad shad 1100 2010-09-27 07:59 main_settings.cfg
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2010-09-23 08:24 Shad

/home/shad/.frictionalgames/Amnesia/MainDemo/Shad:
total 8
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 897 2010-09-23 08:24 user_keys.cfg
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 546 2010-09-23 08:24 user_settings.cfg
Some "x" are missing isnt it ?

Just after doing "Save and quit", I go back to the menu, but i don't have the "Continue" and "Load" options ... (or I didn't find it)

And I thought that maybe it was on purpose, for the demo version.
09-28-2010, 06:19 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

are you sure that's an hpl.log from the run you just did?? as it doesn't even show you loading a level?? odd.

Can you delete the entire .frictionalgames folder and start fresh. There seems to be something preventing you from writing to disk entirely. Are you out of disk space perhaps?? Is that drive mounted read only accidentally? Do you have Selinux enabled and maybe mis-configured?

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
09-28-2010, 01:26 PM
Website Find
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

Where can be the hpl.log if not there ?

Also, I am on Ubuntu, I first installed the demo on /usr with sudo ... but it was boring to always launch the game with sudo. So I uninstalled it and then reinstalled it on /home. Maybe the uninstall wasn't done well ?

I am not ouf of space. I don't understand why it's read only ... I ll test tonight but I don't think that /home is entirely read only.

I don't know what is Selinux.
09-28-2010, 01:49 PM
Find
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#8
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

So, all files in home have me in Owner, so I can read and write:
An exemple (quakelive config file)
[Image: yYirO.png]
And, Amnesia/MainDemo/hpl.log have exactly the same permissions

However, user_keys.cfg and user_settings.cfg have root as owner:
[Image: 2ONtQ.png]
09-28-2010, 06:42 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#9
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

Didn't you say you used to run the game with sudo? That would explain things. Do this.

sudo chown -R shad: ~/.frictionalgames

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
09-29-2010, 05:32 AM
Website Find
Shad Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#10
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months ago RE: Demo: no save

It works well now. Thank you.
I buy it right now.
09-29-2010, 06:22 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)