Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Inventory Exit Stutter
Plissken Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago Inventory Exit Stutter

Hi, I just purchased the full game. I was playing and noticed this happened frequently (and also in the demo when I was playing the demo before purchasing the game). What happens is that sometimes if I open the inventory and then exit the inventory, the game suddenly slows and stutters. I then have to restart the game completely. Any solutions on fixing this?

2.4 ghz duo core
2 gb ram
Geforce 8600 GT 256mb.
10-01-2010, 04:35 AM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Inventory Exit Stutter

First try updating the drivers as outlined in A.1:
http://frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-3754.html

If you have followed the instructions and the problem still remains, attach hpl.log found in "My Documents/Amnesia/Main/"
10-01-2010, 08:55 AM
Find
Plissken Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Inventory Exit Stutter

I've tried installing the omega drivers. Seems to have stopped it for now.
Hm, never mind. It happened again. I've updated, and reinstalled nvidia drivers, using Omega drivers right now.

I've attached the hpl log
(This post was last modified: 10-01-2010, 05:22 PM by Plissken.)
10-01-2010, 04:58 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Inventory Exit Stutter

your driver version is old:

Quote: Version: 2.1.2

should be 3.3 something.
(This post was last modified: 10-01-2010, 06:31 PM by Thomas.)
10-01-2010, 06:31 PM
Find
Plissken Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Inventory Exit Stutter

(10-01-2010, 06:31 PM)Thomas Wrote: your driver version is old:

Quote: Version: 2.1.2

should be 3.3 something.

I'm using the omega drivers which is 2.1. Should I go back to the nvidia drivers? The current nvidia drivers for my 8600 GT is 258.96.

I was using 1680x1050 resolution, switched to 1280x1024. The game audio stutters when I open the inventory about 10 minutes into the game, but at lower screen resolution doesn't slow the game down. I'm also detecting audio stutter during parts where diary entries are being read.
10-01-2010, 06:59 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#6
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Inventory Exit Stutter

Then it might a sound card issue. Make sure to update the drivers to your sound card and/or choose a different.

Also try openAl soft as explained here:
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-4313.html
10-01-2010, 07:27 PM
Find
Plissken Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 3 Years, 11 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Inventory Exit Stutter

The openAL suggestion worked out great. No audio stutters/slowdowns at all. Thanks!
10-01-2010, 08:33 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)