Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Noob needs help
Skoth Offline

Threads: 3
Noob needs help

Hey all,

I'm new to the Editor Tools (though I do have some prior experience in level design) and I'm trying to set everything up. I've followed the tutorials offered for making a map and all of that seemed to go smoothly. Yet, when I tried following the tutorial on setting up a custom story it didn't show up in the game. Now, I think I may already know the problem: I used standard Notepad on Windows to create the .cfg custom_story_settings file--of which, I'm not sure if I need a fancy software to make this file type (if so, what application do I need?). I placed the map that I created in the story root (no subfolders are necessary, right?). I noticed that there is also the tutorial for setting up the Development Environment, which I have not done. Is this required in order to make a custom story/map?

Lastly, I'm certain from my previous experience with level design that it would be required to compile the map prior to physically running it. How do I compile it? Is it hidden somewhere on the Level Editor?

Sorry for the multitude of questions, but I really am quite new to this! In any case, thanks for your help!
10-07-2010, 04:48 AM
Find
Chilton Offline

Threads: 9
RE: Noob needs help

No offence, but wrong wrong wrong Smile
You dont need to compile, you use notepad for everything, subfolders are needed for maps only, and you do not need a development environment (Im using happy faces to show im not ranting at you Smile)

Just list the names of all the files youve made, and i can tell you what you dont have, or if you have everything.

Also, i assume youve placed a spawn point in the level, and that the levels directory is noted in the cfg file?
10-07-2010, 05:32 AM
Find
Skoth Offline

No worries, not offended. Besides, I have no idea what I'm doing!