Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Launcher does not "launch"
hormiga Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago Exclamation  Launcher does not "launch"

I have a G73 laptop with ATI 5870 (with 10.8 drivers, the most recent and updated vBios)

When I launch the game (via steam, launcher or the application file) the launch menu comes up. I hit launch game and it looks like it will launch and then the launch menu pops up again.

I have tried setting the graphic levels to the lowest setting and running the program as an administrator, but I always get the launcher loop.

Any ideas what could be causing this? I don't have any error messages.
10-10-2010, 05:25 PM
Find
Megadrixfire Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#2
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Launcher does not "launch"

Lastes drivers of ATI are 10.9 wich are the ones that i'm using.
I couldnt launch amnesia and other games with the 10.8 drivers.
Hope it works for you, did it for me.

What OS are you using also?
try installing the game on different location or just reinstalling it.
You can also make a shortcut to the Amnesia.exe and not the Launcher.exe since doing that way it will launch the game without the launcher and it may work, but its weird.
I use an EAH 5750 thought.
10-10-2010, 05:45 PM
Find
hormiga Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Launcher does not "launch"

For laptops the latest driver is 10.8, unless I am looking in the wrong place.

Tried uninstalling/reinstalling, same "launcher loop" issue.

I'm using Windows 7 (64)
10-10-2010, 06:06 PM
Find
Megadrixfire Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#4
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Launcher does not "launch"

If you downloaded the drivers from the official page then you where right, i'm using a desktop PC, i didnt knew that :o.
Its hard to know what to do without an error message.
I can only wish you luck on fixing it since i dont have any more ideas...
10-10-2010, 07:19 PM
Find
CHANCEPHOENIX Offline
Member

Posts: 193
Threads: 5
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Launcher does not "launch"

Runs perfect on my (shitty "cant update beyond ati 9 12 driver" ) laptop(toshiba satelite t8100 dual core 3 gb , ati hd3650 256mb ...

http://nl.tinypic.com/r/20k68gp/7

?
10-10-2010, 09:13 PM
Website Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#6
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Launcher does not "launch"

Attach hpl.log found in My Documents/Amnesia/Main
10-11-2010, 09:22 AM
Find
hormiga Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#7
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Launcher does not "launch"

(10-11-2010, 09:22 AM)Thomas Wrote: Attach hpl.log found in My Documents/Amnesia/Main

launcher.log and main_settings.cfg are the only files in there. The game never "starts" it just closes the launcher screen, and a message "preparing to start Amnesia" pops up, it acts like it is going to launch and then reopens the launcher screen.
10-11-2010, 07:00 PM
Find
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#8
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Launcher does not "launch"

Run Amnesia.exe directly from the install directory and see if that helps.
10-11-2010, 07:27 PM
Find
hormiga Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 1
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#9
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: Launcher does not "launch"

(10-11-2010, 07:27 PM)Thomas Wrote: Run Amnesia.exe directly from the install directory and see if that helps.

Yes, that was the first thing I tried. Same thing happens, tried it "run as administrator" too but again it pops the launcher screen.

EDIT: I got it to work! I exited Steam and then started it from the directory... for some reason it worked after that.

The game seems to work but my help file is attached (there were some errors)
10-11-2010, 10:13 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)