Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized
felixmole Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 482
Threads: 7
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 10
#11
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

The is the output for me (it works)

--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing FMOD.
Available sound Drivers:
= PULSEAUDIO =
0 - "Default Output Device"
1 - "GK110 HDMI Audio Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
2 - "Audio interne Stéréo analogique"
= ALSA =
0 - "default"
1 - "null"
2 - "pulse"
3 - "sysdefault:CARD=PCH"
4 - "front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
5 - "surround40:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
6 - "surround41:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
7 - "surround50:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
8 - "surround51:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
9 - "surround71:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
10 - "iec958:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
11 - "dmix:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
12 - "dmix:CARD=PCH,DEV=1"
13 - "dmix:CARD=PCH,DEV=2"
14 - "dsnoop:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
15 - "dsnoop:CARD=PCH,DEV=1"
16 - "dsnoop:CARD=PCH,DEV=2"
17 - "hw:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
18 - "hw:CARD=PCH,DEV=1"
19 - "hw:CARD=PCH,DEV=2"
20 - "plughw:CARD=PCH,DEV=0"
21 - "plughw:CARD=PCH,DEV=1"
22 - "plughw:CARD=PCH,DEV=2"
23 - "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0"
24 - "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=1"
25 - "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=2"
26 - "hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3"
27 - "dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3"
28 - "dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7"
29 - "dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8"
30 - "dmix:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9"
31 - "dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3"
32 - "dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7"
33 - "dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8"
34 - "dsnoop:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9"
35 - "hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3"
36 - "hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7"
37 - "hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8"
38 - "hw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9"
39 - "plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=3"
40 - "plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=7"
41 - "plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=8"
42 - "plughw:CARD=NVidia,DEV=9"
43 - "cards"
44 - "rear"
45 - "center_lfe"
46 - "side"
47 - "spdif"
48 - "modem"
49 - "phoneline"
50 - "plug"
51 - "shm"
52 - "tee"
53 - "file"
Picking Output[0] Driver[0] and SpeakerMode[2]
--------------------------------------------------------

Are you sure the pulseaudio server is running?
08-13-2016, 08:20 PM
Find Reply
Caterpillar Offline
Member

Posts: 116
Threads: 27
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#12
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

(08-13-2016, 08:20 PM)felixmole Wrote: The is the output for me (it works)

Linux distribution name? Pulseaudio version?

(08-13-2016, 08:20 PM)felixmole Wrote: Are you sure the pulseaudio server is running?

Yes!
$ ps -aux | grep pulse
user+  1364  1.3  0.0 631660 13488 ?        S<l  10:19   7:41 /usr/bin/pulseaudio --start
user+ 12691  0.0  0.0 118516   900 pts/2    S+   19:35   0:00 grep --color=auto pulse
(This post was last modified: 08-31-2016, 06:39 PM by Caterpillar.)
08-31-2016, 06:36 PM
Find Reply
AaronKOG Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 57
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#13
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

Sorry for the delay. Check out the [public_beta] beta for the game for a potential fix to fmod setup failing. You can switch to the beta from Soma->Properties->Beta tab. If you still have issues please post the output (~/.local/share/frictionalgames/Soma/Main/hpl.log).
09-12-2016, 08:12 PM
Find Reply
Caterpillar Offline
Member

Posts: 116
Threads: 27
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#14
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

(09-12-2016, 08:12 PM)AaronKOG Wrote: Sorry for the delay. Check out the [public_beta] beta for the game for a potential fix to fmod setup failing. You can switch to the beta from Soma->Properties->Beta tab. If you still have issues please post the output (~/.local/share/frictionalgames/Soma/Main/hpl.log).

Still experiencing the issue

Loading data from cloud storage
--------------------------------------------------------
Files on steam cloud:
No could files found!
Time: 0
--------------------------------------------------------

Version 1.101
-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------
Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating job manager with 3 threads and 1024 jobs
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
Creating script module
Creating lipsync module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init lowlevel graphics: -1x-1 bpp:32 rr: 60 fs:0 ms:0 driver: 0 cap:'SOMA Loading...' pos:(-1x-1)
Available drivers:
  (0) - 'x11'
  (1) - 'dummy'
Creating window: (-1,-1) 1680 x 1050 - 32 bpp flags: 4099
Setting display mode: 1680 x 1050 - 32 bpp 60 hz
Init Glew...OK
Setting up OpenGL
  Vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
  Renderer: GeForce GTX 260/PCIe/SSE2
  Version: 3.2.0 NVIDIA 340.96
  Max texture image units: 32
  Max texture coord units: 96
  Max texture buffer size: 134217728
  Max texture array slices: 512
  Max user clip planes: 8
  Two sided stencil: 1
  Vertex Buffer Object: 1
  Anisotropic filtering: 1
  Max Anisotropic degree: 16
  Multisampling: 1
  Texture compression: 1
  Texture compression S3TC: 1
  Texture compression 3DC: 1
  Texture sRGB: 1
  Geometry Instancing: 1
  Auto generate MipMaps: 1
  Render to texture: 1
  Max draw buffers: 8
  Max color render targets: 8
  Packed depth-stencil: 1
  Texture float: 1
  GLSL Version: 1.50 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
  ShaderModel 2: 1
  ShaderModel 3: 1
  ShaderModel 4: 1
  Max vertex uniforms: 2048
  Max fragment uniforms: 2048
  OGL ATIFragmentShader: 0
  Tesselation: 0
  MultiBindTex: 1
Initializing DevIL
  Vendor String: Abysmal Software
  Version String: Developer's Image Library (DevIL) 1.7.8
  Version Number: 178
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aAlphaMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 1
Adding engine materials
Adding engine post effects
WARNING: Sampler colorMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler offsetMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 3
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing FMOD.
Available sound Drivers:
= PULSEAUDIO =
= ALSA =
0 - "default"
1 - "null"
2 - "pulse"
3 - "sysdefault:CARD=ST"
4 - "front:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
5 - "surround21:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
6 - "surround40:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
7 - "surround41:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
8 - "surround50:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
9 - "surround51:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
10 - "surround71:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
11 - "iec958:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
12 - "cards"
13 - "rear"
14 - "center_lfe"
15 - "side"
16 - "spdif"
17 - "hdmi"
18 - "dmix"
19 - "dsnoop"
20 - "modem"
21 - "phoneline"
22 - "hw"
23 - "plughw"
24 - "plug"
25 - "shm"
26 - "tee"
27 - "file"
Picking Output[0] Driver[0] and SpeakerMode[2]
FATAL ERROR: Fmod could not be initialized!!
09-12-2016, 08:17 PM
Find Reply
felixmole Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 482
Threads: 7
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 10
#15
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

(08-31-2016, 06:36 PM)Caterpillar Wrote:
(08-13-2016, 08:20 PM)felixmole Wrote: The is the output for me (it works)

Linux distribution name? Pulseaudio version?

FWIW:

pulseaudio 1.1
Ubuntu 12.04.5 (Linux 3.5).
10-02-2016, 08:23 PM
Find Reply
Caterpillar Offline
Member

Posts: 116
Threads: 27
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#16
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

AaronKOG are there any news?
10-06-2016, 11:13 AM
Find Reply
AaronKOG Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 57
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#17
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

Sorry I'll be looking at this again soon. I cannot reproduce the issue myself so I have to go off the log output. I'll update the thread when there is a new build to try.
10-08-2016, 08:00 PM
Find Reply
Caterpillar Offline
Member

Posts: 116
Threads: 27
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#18
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

I paste a new log because I changed videocard

$ cat .local/share/frictionalgames/Soma/Main/hpl.log
Loading data from cloud storage
--------------------------------------------------------
Files on steam cloud:
No could files found!
Time: 0
--------------------------------------------------------

Version 1.101
-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------
Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating job manager with 3 threads and 1024 jobs
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
Creating script module
Creating lipsync module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init lowlevel graphics: -1x-1 bpp:32 rr: 60 fs:0 ms:0 driver: 0 cap:'SOMA Loading...' pos:(-1x-1)
Available drivers:
  (0) - 'x11'
  (1) - 'dummy'
Creating window: (-1,-1) 1680 x 1050 - 32 bpp flags: 4099
Setting display mode: 1680 x 1050 - 32 bpp 60 hz
Init Glew...OK
Setting up OpenGL
  Vendor: X.Org
  Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD POLARIS10 (DRM 3.3.0 / 4.8.10-200.fc24.x86_64, LLVM 3.8.0)
  Version: 4.1 (Core Profile) Mesa 12.0.3
  Max texture image units: 32
  Max texture coord units: 160
  Max texture buffer size: 2147483647
  Max texture array slices: 2048
  Max user clip planes: 8
  Two sided stencil: 1
  Vertex Buffer Object: 1
  Anisotropic filtering: 1
  Max Anisotropic degree: 16
  Multisampling: 1
  Texture compression: 1
  Texture compression S3TC: 1
  Texture compression 3DC: 1
  Texture sRGB: 1
  Geometry Instancing: 1
  Auto generate MipMaps: 1
  Render to texture: 1
  Max draw buffers: 8
  Max color render targets: 8
  Packed depth-stencil: 1
  Texture float: 1
  GLSL Version: 4.10
  ShaderModel 2: 1
  ShaderModel 3: 1
  ShaderModel 4: 1
  Max vertex uniforms: 16384
  Max fragment uniforms: 16384
  OGL ATIFragmentShader: 0
  Tesselation: 1
  MultiBindTex: 1
Initializing DevIL
  Vendor String: Abysmal Software
  Version String: Developer's Image Library (DevIL) 1.7.8
  Version Number: 178
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aSpecularMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler aAlphaMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 1
Adding engine materials
Adding engine post effects
WARNING: Sampler colorMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 2
WARNING: Sampler offsetMap doesn't exist or is unused, could not bind it to unit 3
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing FMOD.
Available sound Drivers:
= PULSEAUDIO =
= ALSA =
0 - "default"
1 - "null"
2 - "pulse"
3 - "sysdefault:CARD=ST"
4 - "front:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
5 - "surround21:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
6 - "surround40:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
7 - "surround41:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
8 - "surround50:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
9 - "surround51:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
10 - "surround71:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
11 - "iec958:CARD=ST,DEV=0"
12 - "hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=0"
13 - "hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=1"
14 - "hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=2"
15 - "hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=3"
16 - "hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=4"
17 - "hdmi:CARD=HDMI,DEV=5"
18 - "cards"
19 - "rear"
20 - "center_lfe"
21 - "side"
22 - "spdif"
23 - "dmix"
24 - "dsnoop"
25 - "modem"
26 - "phoneline"
27 - "hw"
28 - "plughw"
29 - "plug"
30 - "shm"
31 - "tee"
32 - "file"
Picking Output[0] Driver[0] and SpeakerMode[2]
FATAL ERROR: Fmod could not be initialized!!
12-03-2016, 06:05 PM
Find Reply
Caterpillar Offline
Member

Posts: 116
Threads: 27
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#19
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

I found out where is the problem!
I will show you all the details in next hours!
12-07-2016, 08:02 PM
Find Reply
Caterpillar Offline
Member

Posts: 116
Threads: 27
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#20
Solved: 1 Year, 8 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Fatal error: fmod could not be inizialized

It is a Steam bug.
I created this bugreport https://bugzilla.rpmfusion.org/show_bug.cgi?id=4372
As workaround you can restart pulseaudio (assuming autospawn = no)
$ pulseaudio -k
$ pulseaudio
I am successfully playing the game by some days on a Radeon RX480
(This post was last modified: 12-11-2016, 01:00 PM by Caterpillar.)
12-11-2016, 12:58 PM
Find Reply


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Human Verification
Please tick the checkbox that you see below. This process is used to prevent automated spam bots.



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)