Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How do i make a monster appear with a trigger (solution)
Mman235 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#1
How do i make a monster appear with a trigger (solution)

How would i make a monster appear at trigger or what script would i use could someone please help me thank youUndecided sry if its already been answer
10-18-2010, 07:47 PM
Find
Vincent Offline
Member

Posts: 91
Threads: 7
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
#2
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger

Make it a hallucination? Tongue

[Image: 14014353645647cc447974.gif]
10-18-2010, 07:50 PM
Find
Mman235 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger

(10-18-2010, 07:50 PM)Vincent Wrote: Make it a hallucination? Tongue

no i mean make them appear after you go down a corridor so they chase you
10-18-2010, 07:51 PM
Find
Vincent Offline
Member

Posts: 91
Threads: 7
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 0
#4
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger

(10-18-2010, 07:51 PM)Mman235 Wrote:
(10-18-2010, 07:50 PM)Vincent Wrote: Make it a hallucination? Tongue

no i mean make them appear after you go down a corridor so they chase you

Dunno, I'm not the greatest scripter ever...

[Image: 14014353645647cc447974.gif]
10-18-2010, 08:00 PM
Find
Mman235 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger

(10-18-2010, 08:00 PM)Vincent Wrote:
(10-18-2010, 07:51 PM)Mman235 Wrote:
(10-18-2010, 07:50 PM)Vincent Wrote: Make it a hallucination? Tongue

no i mean make them appear after you go down a corridor so they chase you

Dunno, I'm not the greatest scripter ever...

i dont have any scripting knowledge at all lolBig Grin
10-18-2010, 08:02 PM
Find
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
#6
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger

Here ya go. "ScriptArea_1" is the name of the script area where you collide which causes the monster to spawn. "MonsterFunc1" is the name of the function used later on when you want to add to the script instead of it doing nothing. "servant_grunt" is the name of the monster that spawns. If you don't know how to actually place a scriptarea or to place and setup a monster, then ask me. Smile

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player" , "ScriptArea_1" , "MonsterFunc1" , true , 1);
}
void MonsterFunc1(string &in asParent , string &in asChild , int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt" , true);
}

10-18-2010, 08:06 PM
Find
Mman235 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger

(10-18-2010, 08:06 PM)Kyle Wrote: Here ya go. "ScriptArea_1" is the name of the script area where you collide which causes the monster to spawn. "MonsterFunc1" is the name of the function used later on when you want to add to the script instead of it doing nothing. "servant_grunt" is the name of the monster that spawns. If you don't know how to actually place a scriptarea or to place and setup a monster, then ask me. Smile

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player" , "ScriptArea_1" , "MonsterFunc1" , true , 1);
}
void MonsterFunc1(string &in asParent , string &in asChild , int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt" , true);
}
ok thank you Big Grin
(10-18-2010, 08:06 PM)Kyle Wrote: Here ya go. "ScriptArea_1" is the name of the script area where you collide which causes the monster to spawn. "MonsterFunc1" is the name of the function used later on when you want to add to the script instead of it doing nothing. "servant_grunt" is the name of the monster that spawns. If you don't know how to actually place a scriptarea or to place and setup a monster, then ask me. Smile

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player" , "ScriptArea_1" , "MonsterFunc1" , true , 1);
}
void MonsterFunc1(string &in asParent , string &in asChild , int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt" , true);
}

ive got another problem the monster is spawned from the start
(This post was last modified: 10-18-2010, 08:26 PM by Mman235.)
10-18-2010, 08:11 PM
Find
theDARKW0LF Offline
Member

Posts: 150
Threads: 17
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger

That's because you have to select the monster entity, and make sure the "active" box is unchecked, so when you collide with the script area, it activates him.

Check out my custom stories(1)(2)!
10-18-2010, 08:51 PM
Find
Mman235 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Threads: 3
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger

(10-18-2010, 08:51 PM)theDARKW0LF Wrote: That's because you have to select the monster entity, and make sure the "active" box is unchecked, so when you collide with the script area, it activates him.

k thanks darkwolf and kyle
10-18-2010, 09:04 PM
Find
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
#10
RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger (solution)

No problem, anytime. Smile

10-18-2010, 11:42 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)