Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
extra_english.lang not working
Lorian1997 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2018
Reputation: 0
#1
extra_english.lang not working

My extra_english. lang file doesn't want to work for my custom story. I triple checked the spelling, location of the file, everything. Here is the file:

<LANGUAGE>
<CATEGORY Name="Messages">
<Entry Name="Prison_1_Locked">It's locked.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Inventory">
<Entry Name="ItemName_Spare Key">Spare Key</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_Spare Key">A spare key left by the prison warden.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
<CATEGORY Name="Journal">
<Entry Name="Note_PrisonWardensNote_Name">Note from Prison Warden</Entry>
<Entry Name="Note_PrisonWardensNote_Text">I can't take this anymore. My ears have become desensitized to the blood curdling screams emanating from the torture chambers. Bernhard has locked me in here to die. I must escape. I left a spare key under a pile of wooden boards.</Entry>
</CATEGORY>
</LANGUAGE>


Before I set up extra_english.lang I put this in the base game's english.lang and it worked fine. But I don't see how the text doesn't show up even in the same format
11-13-2018, 03:31 AM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,807
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 177
#2
RE: extra_english.lang not working

You can't use spaces in your variable names. You've named your key "Spare Key" with a space. This will cause issues.

11-13-2018, 04:00 AM
Find Reply
Lorian1997 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2018
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: extra_english.lang not working

(11-13-2018, 04:00 AM)Mudbill Wrote: You can't use spaces in your variable names. You've named your key "Spare Key" with a space. This will cause issues.

Just added underscores where the spaces were and tested in game. Made no difference
11-13-2018, 04:04 AM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,807
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 177
#4
RE: extra_english.lang not working

If you add the category below, does it not show up in the main menu? If not, can you show me your custom_story_settings.cfg file, and perhaps a screenshot of your custom story folder contents?

PHP Code: (Select All)
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
    <
Entry Name="Description">A test description.</Entry>
</
CATEGORY

11-13-2018, 02:02 PM
Find Reply
Lorian1997 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2018
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: extra_english.lang not working

(11-13-2018, 02:02 PM)Mudbill Wrote: If you add the category below, does it not show up in the main menu? If not, can you show me your custom_story_settings.cfg file, and perhaps a screenshot of your custom story folder contents?

PHP Code: (Select All)
<CATEGORY Name="CustomStoryMain">
 
   <Entry Name="Description">A test description.</Entry>
</
CATEGORY
Added the category, nothing on the menu

Here's my custom_story_settings.cfg

<Main 
ImgFile = "castle.jpg" 
Name = "My Story" 
Author = "Lorian" 

MapsFolder = "maps/" 
StartMap = "notetest.map" 
StartPos = "PlayerStartArea_1"

ExtraLangFilePrefix = "extra_"
    DefaultExtraLangFile = "english.lang"
/>
11-16-2018, 01:03 AM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,807
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 177
#6
RE: extra_english.lang not working

I suppose you can try removing these two lines:

ExtraLangFilePrefix = "extra_"
DefaultExtraLangFile = "english.lang"

Since extra_english.lang is what it defaults to anyway. Also make sure you have extensions visible on your system so that your files don't hide an extra file extension.

11-18-2018, 12:12 AM
Find Reply
Lorian1997 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2018
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: extra_english.lang not working

(11-18-2018, 12:12 AM)Mudbill Wrote: I suppose you can try removing these two lines:

ExtraLangFilePrefix = "extra_"
DefaultExtraLangFile = "english.lang"

Since extra_english.lang is what it defaults to anyway. Also make sure you have extensions visible on your system so that your files don't hide an extra file extension.

Deleting the last two lines didn't work. I even tried copying the entire english.lang from the config files and pasted the entire extra_english.lang contents to see if that helped and the game crashes the instant I click on the Custom Story in the main menu
11-18-2018, 02:32 AM
Find Reply
Darkfire Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 365
Threads: 21
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 15
#8
RE: extra_english.lang not working

In these two lines

<Entry Name="ItemName_Spare Key">Spare Key</Entry>
<Entry Name="ItemDesc_Spare Key">A spare key left by the prison warden.</Entry>

...did you change it into
<Entry Name="ItemName_Spare_Key">Spare Key</Entry>
or
<Entry Name="ItemName_Spare Key">Spare_Key</Entry>
?
(notice where I added the '_' sign)
The first option is the correct way to do it.

Option 2: Get a Custom Story template and use it''s extra_english.lang
This bug might be caused by lack of certain categories in your lang.

(This post was last modified: 11-18-2018, 03:08 AM by Darkfire.)
11-18-2018, 03:05 AM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,807
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 177
#9
RE: extra_english.lang not working

The game crashing is very different from the lang file texts not showing up. If you're crashing, we need the hpl.log file from Documents\Amnesia\Main. Crashes are usually script errors. The extra_english.lang file requires no scripting to work.

11-19-2018, 11:09 PM
Find Reply
Lorian1997 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2018
Reputation: 0
#10
RE: extra_english.lang not working

(11-19-2018, 11:09 PM)Mudbill Wrote: The game crashing is very different from the lang file texts not showing up. If you're crashing, we need the hpl.log file from Documents\Amnesia\Main. Crashes are usually script errors. The extra_english.lang file requires no scripting to work.

The custom story isn't even showing up in the main menu anymore and the hpl.log doesn't show the crash
11-19-2018, 11:32 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)