Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Yet another noob to the ranks
Author Message
Nitt Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
#11
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

(12-03-2010, 12:13 PM)Someone else Wrote: It might be that you placed the door inside of the door frame. Thus it is stuck inside it and can't open.
Check the x, y and z position for both the door and the door frame and make sure they are exactly the same.

They were all exactly the same. Except the one that kinda worked, so I fixed that one and now it doesn't work, haha.

EDIT:

Okay, I've found two different ways of fixing this problem. You can tell me if either of them is a bad idea.

1. Change the position of the door along the y-axis - The door seemed to be in the ground a little bit, so I just lifted it up so it fit the frame.

2. Untick the "collides" boxes in the doorframes - I thought this might work too, since it seemed to be a problem of the door being stuck within the frame.

Anyway, I'm assuming 1 will be the better option, if only aesthetically, but feedback would be nice. =]

EDIT 2: Yeah, falling through the map isn't much fun, so I'm going to stick with 1.

EDIT 3: Another question (should I post a new thread for each question? I'm not sure how it works here), is there a way to script the lighting of a torch/candle to cause an event? I'm thinking Zelda terms, where lighting all four torches in a room will open the door, you know?
(This post was last modified: 12-03-2010, 06:58 PM by Nitt.)
12-03-2010, 05:12 PM
Find Reply
Someone else Offline
Member

Posts: 180
Threads: 8
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#12
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

(12-03-2010, 05:12 PM)Nitt Wrote: should I post a new thread for each question? I'm not sure how it works here
I think it might be best to keep all related questions in one topic.
Also to make one topic with a lot of questions if you've got a lot at the same time.
Otherwise I think making more topics is the best idea.
Anyway I don't think there are any rules about it.

(12-03-2010, 05:12 PM)Nitt Wrote: is there a way to script the lighting of a torch/candle to cause an event? I'm thinking Zelda terms, where lighting all four torches in a room will open the door, you know?
There was a custom story that did that.
I think it is called "Cursed summoning part 1" or something like that.

The functions to use are probably
/**
* Callback syntax: MyFunc(string &in entity, string &in type). Type depends on entity type and includes: "OnPickup", "Break", "OnIgnite", etc
*/
void  SetEntityCallbackFunc(string& asName, string& asCallback);
/**
* A callback called when ever the connection state changes (button being switched on). Syntax: void Func(string &in EntityName, int alState). alState: -1=off, 0=between 1=on
*/
void  SetEntityConnectionStateChangeCallback(string& asName, string& asCallback);

@Devs:
Wouldn't it be good to have a syntax highlighter plugin on the forums.
So you can post highlighted code?

Support the developer.
Say no to piracy.
My avatar used to shape shift, but that is no longer the case.
(This post was last modified: 12-03-2010, 07:59 PM by Someone else.)
12-03-2010, 07:48 PM
Website Find Reply
Nitt Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
#13
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

Sweet, thanks. I'll toy with that.


Another question - How do I place unlit lamps? I selected a file "hanging_lantern_wall_no_light_1" and placed it on the map. I assumed the "no_light" would mean that it would begin unlit, but this wasn't the case. I unchecked the "active" box, which just made it not appear in the test. Not really sure what else to do, but I feel pretty certain I'll facepalm when someone tells me. Tongue
12-04-2010, 07:00 AM
Find Reply
Akumasama Offline
Member

Posts: 122
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
#14
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

You can uncheck "lit" in the properties of the lamp Smile
12-04-2010, 09:44 AM
Find Reply
Nitt Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
#15
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

Properties? As in entity? I'm not seeing it. :/

EDIT: Nevermind. I found it on another candlestick. It's just not an option on the "hanging_lantern_wall_no_light_1" for some reason.
(This post was last modified: 12-04-2010, 05:48 PM by Nitt.)
12-04-2010, 05:43 PM
Find Reply
Someone else Offline
Member

Posts: 180
Threads: 8
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#16
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

It's not on the "_no_light" version because it doesn't give light at all.
Thus it would be pointless, as there would be no reason to ignite it.
It is in the "hanging_lantern_wall".

Support the developer.
Say no to piracy.
My avatar used to shape shift, but that is no longer the case.
12-04-2010, 05:50 PM
Website Find Reply
Akumasama Offline
Member

Posts: 122
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
#17
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

He already noticed that, Someone else. Tongue
12-05-2010, 11:27 AM
Find Reply
Someone else Offline
Member

Posts: 180
Threads: 8
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#18
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

(12-05-2010, 11:27 AM)Akumasama Wrote: He already noticed that, Someone else. Tongue
Actually I just explained why it wasn't in the "_no_light" version, in which he only wrote "for some reason".
I explained the reason.

Support the developer.
Say no to piracy.
My avatar used to shape shift, but that is no longer the case.
12-05-2010, 01:12 PM
Website Find Reply
Akumasama Offline
Member

Posts: 122
Threads: 2
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
#19
RE: Yet another noob to the ranks

Ah okay. Smile
12-05-2010, 07:13 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)