Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Darned monster doesn't move
GraphicsKid Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 258
Threads: 34
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#1
Darned monster doesn't move

So I'm really new to this, so forgive me if I'm just doing something really stupid, but whenever I activate a monster in my level, it just stands there. I've got tons of path nodes scattered around, and I've given it some patrol nodes.

The only way I could get it to move was to do the ShowEnemyPlayerPosition, but that makes it run at a full sprint at me, I don't want that either.

Basically it spawns at the end of a long hallway when you hit a certain area trigger. I want it to come around the corner and start walking towards me.

Thanks for your patience!
12-31-2010, 07:29 PM
Find
GraphicsKid Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 258
Threads: 34
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#2
RE: Darned monster doesn't move

It starts out in "wait" mode (I hate that mode!).

I've run some of the normal levels in debug mode, and when he starts out, it's in "patrol" mode. Why doesn't the monster in my level start out like that???
01-01-2011, 08:38 PM
Find
Frontcannon Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 538
Threads: 10
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 2
#3
RE: Darned monster doesn't move

Are your PatrolNodes assigned to the monster entity?

In your .hps, put the code in OnStart().

void  AddEnemyPatrolNode(string& asName, string& asNodeName, float afWaitTime, string& asAnimation);

asName = name of the enemy you want to patrol along those nodes
asNodeName = name of the node
afWatTime = the time in seconds it stays at that node (0.0f by default)
asAnimation = special animation the entity calls when arriving at the node, leave empty (write "")


╔═════════════════╗
☺ Smoke weed everyday ☺
╚═════════════════╝
01-01-2011, 08:43 PM
Find
GraphicsKid Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 258
Threads: 34
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#4
RE: Darned monster doesn't move

DON'T LOOK AT ME, I'M A MORON!!!!

I had invalid names for the patrol nodes. I was typing "pathNode_##" instead of "pathnode_##" (darned case-sensitivity!)

EDIT: Oh just saw your post Frontcannon. Thanks for the tips! I wasn't sure what those last two parameters were.
(This post was last modified: 01-01-2011, 08:47 PM by GraphicsKid.)
01-01-2011, 08:46 PM
Find
Frontcannon Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 538
Threads: 10
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 2
#5
RE: Darned monster doesn't move

...



ಠ_ಠ


╔═════════════════╗
☺ Smoke weed everyday ☺
╚═════════════════╝
01-01-2011, 08:48 PM
Find
GraphicsKid Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 258
Threads: 34
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
#6
RE: Darned monster doesn't move

(01-01-2011, 08:48 PM)Frontcannon Wrote: ...



ಠ_ಠ

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2-5mDyCKac#t=0m24s
(This post was last modified: 01-01-2011, 08:57 PM by GraphicsKid.)
01-01-2011, 08:56 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)