Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
xf86-video-ati: Segmentation fault
TAXI Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago xf86-video-ati: Segmentation fault

Hi,
I'm running gentoo linux. I installed the demo with this ebuild: http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=336660

I'm using gallium3D, for that I have installed the following ebuilds:
x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.24
media-libx/mesa-9999
x11-base/xorg-server-1.9.4
x11-drivers/xf86-video-ati-6.14.0
sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.36-r5
dev-libs/libtxc_dxtn-1.0.0-r1 from http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=65607

My problem is that the game crashes at the loading screen (after setting the gamma)
the only output I get:
$ /usr/games/bin/amnesia-tdd-demo
[1] 25001 segmentation fault  /usr/games/bin/amnesia-tdd-demo
Am I missing something or doing something wrong?

P.S. Sorry for my bad english.

//EDIT: My Graphic Card is a RadeonHD 4670 and this system is amd64 (no-mutilib)
(This post was last modified: 03-17-2011, 01:39 PM by TAXI.)
03-17-2011, 01:36 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: xf86-video-ati: Segmentation fault

From the log it looks as though the game couldn't create any textures. You'll have to poke the Gallium3D/Mesa team for support on this as, unfortunately, we currently do not support the open source drivers. (though some have had success with the R300 based ATI cards)

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
03-17-2011, 01:44 PM
Website Find
TAXI Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 8 Months, 2 Weeks ago RE: xf86-video-ati: Segmentation fault

I have forgotten to set R600_ENABLE_S3TC=1. Now the game isn't crashing anymore and the textures are loading but I have a never ending loading screen.

//EDIT: Some more infos: In top (via ssh) I can see that X and Amnesia are eating CPU.
The last thing I can see in the log is:
Game Running
--------------------------------------------------------
-------- Loading map 'menu_bg.map' ---------
    Cache Loading: 1908 ms
  Entities: 302 ms
  Compilation: 1 ms
  Total: 2228 ms
  Meshes created: 28
  Bodies created: 5
-------- Loading complete ---------

//EDIT²: Checked my syslog and had messages like this repeating very fast while Amnesia is running:
Mar 17 14:26:46 localhost kernel: [ 1648.418857] radeon 0000:01:00.0: r600_check_texture_resource:1111 texture invalid format 51
Mar 17 14:26:46 localhost kernel: [ 1648.418862] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
Mar 17 14:26:46 localhost kernel: [ 1648.421855] radeon 0000:01:00.0: r600_check_texture_resource:1111 texture invalid format 49
Mar 17 14:26:46 localhost kernel: [ 1648.421860] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
Mar 17 14:26:46 localhost kernel: [ 1648.424882] radeon 0000:01:00.0: r600_check_texture_resource:1111 texture invalid format 49
Mar 17 14:26:46 localhost kernel: [ 1648.424886] [drm:radeon_cs_ioctl] *ERROR* Invalid command stream !
So I think it's a kernel issue. I will try to patch my kernel like this: http://www.casey-jones.org/blog/16/ and see if it helps.

//EDIT³: I backported the DRM stuff from 2.6.38-rc8 to my 2.6.36 kernel and the game is running fine! Smile
(This post was last modified: 03-17-2011, 06:08 PM by TAXI.)
03-17-2011, 02:05 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)