Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 8 Vote(s) - 4.63 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Video Tutorials [OMG ELEVEN!!!!]
Anxt Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 588
Threads: 12
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 10
#11
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

I have my first video recorded, it covers the basics of building a map in the level editor. I just need to upload it to youtube and I will post the link in this thread.

04-25-2011, 03:57 PM
Find
Simpanra Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 314
Threads: 28
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#12
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

(04-25-2011, 03:57 PM)Anxt Wrote: I have my first video recorded, it covers the basics of building a map in the level editor. I just need to upload it to youtube and I will post the link in this thread.

Brilliant! I can't wait =)
I will put the link in the first post when it's up if you like? =)
04-25-2011, 04:02 PM
Find
Dalroc Offline
Member

Posts: 57
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#13
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

You should indent your code.. Especially if you are going to teach others to script.

I guess I could explain for you what the "string& asName", "float afTime", "string& asFunction" and all those mean.

Lets use your own tutorial as example.
In your AddEntityCollideCallback you have the parameters "Player", "RoomTwoArea" and "1".
In you CollideRoomTwo function you "import" these parameters with a new name you specify.

So
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player", "RoomTwoArea", "CollideRoomTwo", true, 1);
calls
CollideRoomTwo(string &in asParent, string &in asChild, int &in alState)
This means Player is now a variable named asParent inside of the CollideRoomTwo function, RoomTwoArea is named asChild and the 1 in stored inside an integer variable called alState.

Now this doesn't really change anything for this specific script, but it's good for doing a general function that you use several times for several different entities and locations (unlocking doors, ambient noises, levers).

Example, this code would unlock any door that calls it:
PHP Code: (Select All)
void KeyOnDoor(string &in asItemstring &in asEntity)
{
    
SetSwingDoorLocked(asEntityfalsetrue);
    
PlaySoundAtEntity("""unlock_door.snt"asEntity0false);

04-25-2011, 04:33 PM
Find
Simpanra Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 314
Threads: 28
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#14
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

Ah i see, that makes sense =)
And sorry abou the indenting, i will do that from now on =)
04-25-2011, 04:42 PM
Find
Anxt Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 588
Threads: 12
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 10
#15
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

Video is being uploaded now, it will probably take a while though.

And yes, I would love for it to be on the first page Smile

I'll post a link when it is ready.

04-25-2011, 04:46 PM
Find
Exostalker Offline
Member

Posts: 204
Threads: 10
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 3
#16
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

I didn't want to create a new thread, so I just post this problem here:

How to remove particles from level editor? Let's say with light I spawn some dust particles, and they start to lag level editor... How do I remove them? Removing the light itself doesn't work, nothing seems to work with this...

EDIT: Reopening the map seems to fix this.

(This post was last modified: 04-25-2011, 06:17 PM by Exostalker.)
04-25-2011, 05:56 PM
Find
Simpanra Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 314
Threads: 28
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#17
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

(04-25-2011, 05:56 PM)Exostalker Wrote: I didn't want to create a new thread, so I just post this problem here:

How to remove particles from level editor? Let's say with light I spawn some dust particles, and they start to lag level editor... How do I remove them? Removing the light itself doesn't work, nothing seems to work with this...

EDIT: Reopening the map seems to fix this.

Just click the floating PS icon in the editor, and hit backspace to delete it =)
04-25-2011, 06:30 PM
Find
Exostalker Offline
Member

Posts: 204
Threads: 10
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation: 3
#18
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

(04-25-2011, 06:30 PM)Simpanra Wrote:
(04-25-2011, 05:56 PM)Exostalker Wrote: I didn't want to create a new thread, so I just post this problem here:

How to remove particles from level editor? Let's say with light I spawn some dust particles, and they start to lag level editor... How do I remove them? Removing the light itself doesn't work, nothing seems to work with this...

EDIT: Reopening the map seems to fix this.

Just click the floating PS icon in the editor, and hit backspace to delete it =)

Yeah, it would normally work like that. I created those particles with light, not with system Big Grin

04-25-2011, 06:42 PM
Find
Anxt Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 588
Threads: 12
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 10
#19
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

Well, while we're at it, I am having a bit of an issue myself. In my custom story, the player must combine a hammer and chipper to destroy a padlock. Before the Justine patch, my code worked fine, and they combined properly. Since then, however, it has not worked, nor has any combine callback. I have tried updating my code in concordance with the script functions page, but it is still not working.

Here is the function in question:

void CombineHammerAndChipper(string &in asItemA, string &in asItemB)
{
    
    if(asItemA == "stone_hammer_1" && HasItem("stone_chipper_1")){
    
        RemoveItem("stone_chipper_1");
        RemoveItem("stone_hammer_1");
        
        GiveItem("stone_hammer_chipper", "Puzzle", "stone_hammer_chipper", "stone_hammer_chipper.tga", 0);    
    }
    else if(asItemA == "stone_chipper_1" && HasItem("stone_hammer_1")){
        
        RemoveItem("stone_chipper_1");
        RemoveItem("stone_hammer_1");
        
        GiveItem("stone_hammer_chipper", "Puzzle", "stone_hammer_chipper", "stone_hammer_chipper.tga", 0);    
    }
}

Any ideas why it won't work?

04-25-2011, 07:10 PM
Find
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#20
RE: Video Tutorials [FIRST VIDEO IS UP]

Perhaps the cache? Or maybe it needs to have the corresponding pfiles.
04-25-2011, 07:14 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)