Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Anyone need help?
xtron Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 402
Threads: 37
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 2
RE: Anyone need help?

(05-22-2011, 07:33 PM)Kyle Wrote: What is the name of the key that you want to be interacted with which then causes the monster to spawn?

What is the name of the monster that will spawn?

the key: keyhall2
monster name: monster_key_keeper1

thanks for helping me out Smile

[Image: 44917299.jpg]Dubstep <3
05-22-2011, 07:34 PM
Find Reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
RE: Anyone need help?

Here you go. Smile

////////////////////////////
// Run first time starting map
void OnStart()
//The key "Hall2" is needed to unlock the room called "Hall2" and plays the unlock_door sound.
{
    SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback("keyhall2", "monsterspawn", true);
    AddUseItemCallback("", "keyhall2", "room_hall2", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);
    AddUseItemCallback("", "key_office", "room_office", "UsedKeyOnDoor2", true);
    AddUseItemCallback("", "key_prison", "door_prison", "UsedKeyOnDoor3", true);
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_key_keeper1", "PosNodeArea_1", 0.0f, "IdleExtra3");
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
    SetSwingDoorLocked("room_hall2", false, true);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door", "room_hall2", 0, false);
    RemoveItem("keyhall2");
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor2(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
    SetSwingDoorLocked("room_office", false, true);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door", "room_office", 0, false);
    RemoveItem("key_office");
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor3(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
    SetSwingDoorLocked("door_prison", false, true);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door", "door_prison", 0, false);
    RemoveItem("key_prison");
}

void TriggerSanityDamageLook(string &in asEntity, int alState)
{
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_scare.snt", "Player", 0, false);
    GiveSanityDamage(60.0f, true);
    PlayMusic("05_event_steps.ogg", false, 80, 0, 10, false);
    SetMessage("Inventory","SH*T!",0);
}

void monsterspawn(string &in asEntity)
{
    SetEntityActive("monster_key_keeper1", true);
}

////////////////////////////
// Run when entering map
void OnEnter()
{

}
////////////////////////////
// Run when leaving map
void OnLeave()
{

}

05-22-2011, 07:37 PM
Find Reply
xtron Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 402
Threads: 37
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 2
RE: Anyone need help?

(05-22-2011, 07:37 PM)Kyle Wrote: Here you go. Smile

////////////////////////////
// Run first time starting map
void OnStart()
//The key "Hall2" is needed to unlock the room called "Hall2" and plays the unlock_door sound.
{
    SetEntityPlayerInteractCallback("keyhall2", "monsterspawn", true);
    AddUseItemCallback("", "keyhall2", "room_hall2", "UsedKeyOnDoor", true);
    AddUseItemCallback("", "key_office", "room_office", "UsedKeyOnDoor2", true);
    AddUseItemCallback("", "key_prison", "door_prison", "UsedKeyOnDoor3", true);
    AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_key_keeper1", "PosNodeArea_1", 0.0f, "IdleExtra3");
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
    SetSwingDoorLocked("room_hall2", false, true);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door", "room_hall2", 0, false);
    RemoveItem("keyhall2");
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor2(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
    SetSwingDoorLocked("room_office", false, true);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door", "room_office", 0, false);
    RemoveItem("key_office");
}

void UsedKeyOnDoor3(string &in asItem, string &in asEntity)
{
    SetSwingDoorLocked("door_prison", false, true);
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "unlock_door", "door_prison", 0, false);
    RemoveItem("key_prison");
}

void TriggerSanityDamageLook(string &in asEntity, int alState)
{
    PlaySoundAtEntity("", "react_scare.snt", "Player", 0, false);
    GiveSanityDamage(60.0f, true);
    PlayMusic("05_event_steps.ogg", false, 80, 0, 10, false);
    SetMessage("Inventory","SH*T!",0);
}

void monsterspawn(string &in asEntity)
{
    SetEntityActive("monster_key_keeper1", true);
}

////////////////////////////
// Run when entering map
void OnEnter()
{

}
////////////////////////////
// Run when leaving map
void OnLeave()
{

}


Thanks man! ^^.

Btw how do i do so he walks from the spawn point to another point?

I already got a Patrolnode but it does'nt work :O.

[Image: 44917299.jpg]Dubstep <3
05-22-2011, 07:39 PM
Find Reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
RE: Anyone need help?

Actually, you don't put it inside the void OnStart()

You should put it into the function in which the monster is spawned.

Also, I don't think you should have some animation for the monster in the patrol node.

So remove the AddEnemyPatrolNode that's in your void OnStart() and then make the function look like this:

void monsterspawn(string &in asEntity)
{
     SetEntityActive("monster_key_keeper1", true);
     AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_key_keeper1", "PosNodeArea_1", 0.0f, "");
}

05-22-2011, 07:44 PM
Find Reply
xtron Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 402
Threads: 37
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 2
RE: Anyone need help?

(05-22-2011, 07:44 PM)Kyle Wrote: Actually, you don't put it inside the void OnStart()

You should put it into the function in which the monster is spawned.

Also, I don't think you should have some animation for the monster in the patrol node.

So remove the AddEnemyPatrolNode that's in your void OnStart() and then make the function look like this:

void monsterspawn(string &in asEntity)
{
     SetEntityActive("monster_key_keeper1", true);
     AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_key_keeper1", "PosNodeArea_1", 0.0f, "");
}

And if I want more than 1 place to patrol i just add more nodes?..like

void monsterspawn(string &in asEntity)
{
     SetEntityActive("monster_key_keeper1", true);
     AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_key_keeper1", "PosNodeArea_1", 0.0f, "");
     AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_key_keeper1", "PosNodeArea_2", 0.0f, "");
     AddEnemyPatrolNode("monster_key_keeper1", "PosNodeArea_3", 0.0f, "");
}

etc...

?

[Image: 44917299.jpg]Dubstep <3
05-22-2011, 07:47 PM
Find Reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
RE: Anyone need help?

Yes, that is exactly how you do it. ^.^

05-22-2011, 07:54 PM
Find Reply
xtron Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 402
Threads: 37
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 2
RE: Anyone need help?

Thanks for helping but the patroling does'nt work :S

[Image: 44917299.jpg]Dubstep <3
05-22-2011, 07:54 PM
Find Reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
RE: Anyone need help?

(05-22-2011, 07:54 PM)xtron Wrote: Thanks for helping but the patroling does'nt work :S

It doesn't patrol. It goes from where it spawns to point A then to point B and then disappears when the player isn't looking.

(This post was last modified: 05-22-2011, 08:03 PM by Kyle.)
05-22-2011, 08:03 PM
Find Reply
xtron Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 402
Threads: 37
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 2
RE: Anyone need help?

(05-22-2011, 08:03 PM)Kyle Wrote:
(05-22-2011, 07:54 PM)xtron Wrote: Thanks for helping but the patroling does'nt work :S

It doesn't patrol. It goes from where it spawns to point A then to point B and then disappears when the player isn't looking.

The problem is that the monster aint walking to point B.

[Image: 44917299.jpg]Dubstep <3
05-22-2011, 08:07 PM
Find Reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Threads: 36
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
RE: Anyone need help?

Did you name it correctly? Check and make sure that the PathNode is called what you want it to be called.

05-22-2011, 08:10 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)