Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


3rd Person Camera
Talus Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
3rd Person Camera

Hi everyone

I wanna know how change the first person camera of Overture, to have an 3rd person camera.


06-28-2011, 09:40 AM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#2
RE: 3rd Person Camera

Where did you get the idea that you can have a 3rd person camera in Overture?

(This post was last modified: 06-28-2011, 09:42 AM by Tanshaydar.)
06-28-2011, 09:42 AM
Website Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,369
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#3
RE: 3rd Person Camera

3rd person? Like...seeing your character move or something? Of course this is not possible because your character does not exist. Normally it is just a hand or something. Not possible...
06-28-2011, 10:06 AM
Find Reply
Ilkka X Offline
Hello Friends!

Posts: 3,455
Threads: 100
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 64
#4
RE: 3rd Person Camera

It's not possible.
As stated before, the character you're playing with (Phillip), does not exist in the game.
And even if you'd somehow manage to get the third person to work, you'd only see a floating pick axe and a beef jerky.

(This post was last modified: 06-28-2011, 08:06 PM by Ilkka X.)
06-28-2011, 11:21 AM
Website Find Reply
Talus Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: 3rd Person Camera

from my Brain ^^

I think it's possible

instead of the "hands" attached to the camera, I think we can load a mesh and use the ends of the skeleton (arms) and use it for actions. And the camera must follow this mesh
06-28-2011, 12:08 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,369
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#6
RE: 3rd Person Camera

it is not possible but if you want to spend time on it....good luck! Smile
(This post was last modified: 06-28-2011, 12:21 PM by plutomaniac.)
06-28-2011, 12:21 PM
Find Reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#7
RE: 3rd Person Camera

If you want to rework the game code to support it, it should be doable.. But there's a lot of code you'll have to add in, as the feature was plain never written in.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
06-28-2011, 12:37 PM
Website Find Reply
Talus Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: 3rd Person Camera

So let's go to write my ThirdCameraHandler ^^

in the game sources, I have not seen the piece of code that manages the camera, where can i find them ^^
(This post was last modified: 06-28-2011, 12:48 PM by Talus.)
06-28-2011, 12:46 PM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#9
RE: 3rd Person Camera

It's player itself, there is no other camera settings in either HPL1 or HPL2.
I hope HPL3 will have this, though.

(This post was last modified: 06-28-2011, 02:31 PM by Tanshaydar.)
06-28-2011, 02:30 PM
Website Find Reply
Ilkka X Offline
Hello Friends!

Posts: 3,455
Threads: 100
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 64
#10
RE: 3rd Person Camera

HPL1 = First person
HPL2 = Second person
HPL3 = Third person

lol.

06-28-2011, 03:15 PM
Website Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)