Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]
Paulpolska Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 29
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

I already know how to create simple model. Now I have question. How add on objects .dds textures which have few textures in one ?
If I add on wall object I have all pieces of textures on each walls ;/ [Even if i have one Cube on blender]


More models in Amnesia is construct so
Screenshot

for example

[Image: didv.jpg]

ON SIMPLE MODELS ON .DDS FILE IS ONLY ONE TEXTURE. HERE IS FEW PIECES

MY CUSTOM STORY - - STILL ALIVE - -
http://www.moddb.com/mods/still-alive
(This post was last modified: 07-13-2011, 10:19 AM by Paulpolska.)
07-13-2011, 10:14 AM
Find Reply
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#2
RE: Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

This is where UV maps come in. By creating a UV map you tell which part of the texture goes where on the model. As for creating UV maps look for blender tutorials on the internets.

Good luck

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


07-13-2011, 11:33 AM
Find Reply
Paulpolska Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 29
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

I have a few tutorials, but none describe which part of texture add ;/
Ok I know how do it but how select in Edit Mode two objects ??
Shift doesn't work


Ok I understand everything. Thanks you

MY CUSTOM STORY - - STILL ALIVE - -
http://www.moddb.com/mods/still-alive
(This post was last modified: 07-13-2011, 12:25 PM by Paulpolska.)
07-13-2011, 11:49 AM
Find Reply
yasar11732 Offline
Member

Posts: 55
Threads: 2
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 5
#4
RE: Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

If you don't already use, start using mark seam, they are handy when U.V mapping. Especially with primitive meshes. This article mentions about it a little http://www.blender.org/development/relea...nwrapping/

07-13-2011, 12:29 PM
Find Reply
Paulpolska Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 29
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

I have last one problem. While I play penetrate (walk inside) by objects "walls" if it never existed, but of course it can be seen.

Under editor if i choose "create On Surface" item is created on plane not on model. Hmm What i must doing ?

MY CUSTOM STORY - - STILL ALIVE - -
http://www.moddb.com/mods/still-alive
(This post was last modified: 07-13-2011, 01:29 PM by Paulpolska.)
07-13-2011, 01:28 PM
Find Reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#6
RE: Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

Do you mean you can't see the texture from inside the model? That would be because the models' polygons are one-sided; and so the texture only goes on one side, in this case the outside.

Not sure why creating on surface wouldn't work though.
07-13-2011, 03:10 PM
Find Reply
Paulpolska Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 29
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#7
RE: Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

You don't understand me. How change this >> click on YT link

I walk because of object (I dont now what spell used to explain it)


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6xi98uNK29k

MY CUSTOM STORY - - STILL ALIVE - -
http://www.moddb.com/mods/still-alive
07-13-2011, 03:33 PM
Find Reply
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#8
RE: Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

If it is an entity you need to create "a body" for it in the modeleditor. If it is a static object it should be impassable.

Edit: By static object I mean that it has no .ent file

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


(This post was last modified: 07-13-2011, 03:43 PM by Acies.)
07-13-2011, 03:42 PM
Find Reply
Paulpolska Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 29
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: Making models with "pieces of textures" [Screenshot]

I create body but now objects is invisible ;/
Ok is good now

MY CUSTOM STORY - - STILL ALIVE - -
http://www.moddb.com/mods/still-alive
(This post was last modified: 07-13-2011, 04:20 PM by Paulpolska.)
07-13-2011, 04:12 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)