Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Bad sound when playing Amnesia
Mjomo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
#1
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months ago Bad sound when playing Amnesia

Hi,

I play Amnesia on my Slackware 13.37 (32-bit) almost without any problem. However, when music or effect sound are played with low frequency (when bombs explode, when stones falls on the ground; that kind of sounds), it sounds , well bad, like listening on 1 WATT speakers if you know what I mean. I use ALSA as sound driver and Intel ICH5 as soundcard.

When using mediaplayers like Spotify (through wine, using ALSA) the sound is good. Can i fix this sound issue somehow ?

This is my sound-spec:

bash-4.1$ uname -r
3.0.0-eXpander-3.0 #I use 3.0.0 kernel, but custom builded.

bash-4.1$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: ICH5 [Intel ICH5], device 0: Intel ICH [Intel ICH5]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: ICH5 [Intel ICH5], device 4: Intel ICH - IEC958 [Intel ICH5 - IEC958]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

bash-4.1$ cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.24.

07-31-2011, 02:00 AM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months ago RE: Bad sound when playing Amnesia

What version of pulse audio do you have installed (if any) and what version of OpenAL do you have installed?


Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
07-31-2011, 02:11 AM
Website Find
Mjomo Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
#3
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months ago RE: Bad sound when playing Amnesia

Pulse Audio is not included in Slackware.

However, I did not use openAL either, stupid me...

Now i installed version 1.12.854 of openAL. I report back if it is better or not.



Sounds seems to work fine now.

Thanks for help! And thanks for your linux support! Really appreciated!
(This post was last modified: 07-31-2011, 03:34 AM by Mjomo.)
07-31-2011, 03:02 AM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)