Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
The custom enemy that won't work
Author Message
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
The custom enemy that won't work

Hey modders

So I have this problem with an enemy model I've made in 3DS max, and rigged with HumanIK in Maya, both the 2012 version. First of all, the enemy is lying down and is way too big when I open him in the ModelViewer, and when I open my version where he is rigged I just get the message "Modelview.exe has stopped responding".


What is my problem here, is it common?

Thanks
08-05-2011, 02:01 PM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#2
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

You should use OpenCollada plugin while exporting, not FBX_DAE, but OpenCollada doesn't have 2012 support yet.

08-05-2011, 02:17 PM
Website Find Reply
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

(08-05-2011, 02:17 PM)Tanshaydar Wrote: You should use OpenCollada plugin while exporting, not FBX_DAE, but OpenCollada doesn't have 2012 support yet.

Thats it. Damm, I guess I have to download the 2011 version then, good thing I am student and get it for free.
08-05-2011, 02:24 PM
Find Reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#4
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

Also, Max is z-up, and the engine is Y-up, which is probably why he was lying down. And the units should be in meters.

When the modelview crashes, there's an error log named modelview.log, which should be in the main Amnesia directory. It'll list some errors at the bottom of the log whenever it crashes.
(This post was last modified: 08-05-2011, 03:44 PM by MrBigzy.)
08-05-2011, 03:42 PM
Find Reply
NyteMyre Offline
Member

Posts: 70
Threads: 5
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 0
#5
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

Can we haz screen? ():-)
08-05-2011, 05:47 PM
Find Reply
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
#6
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

So after re-rigging him in 2011 and exporting him with OpenCollada I still get the "stopped responding" message again. Also, sadly there is no log generated.
08-05-2011, 07:18 PM
Find Reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#7
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

There should be. o.o

Do you have the modelview exe in the Amnesia directory?
08-05-2011, 08:33 PM
Find Reply
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
#8
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

(08-05-2011, 08:33 PM)MrBigzy Wrote: There should be. o.o

Do you have the modelview exe in the Amnesia directory?

I do.
08-05-2011, 09:42 PM
Find Reply
dasde Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 30
Threads: 6
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
#9
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

Anyone who got an idea?
08-07-2011, 10:50 AM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#10
RE: The custom enemy that won't work

Model View produce modelview.log, try with another Amnesia file (which is working). Tell us if it works to create that log.

08-07-2011, 10:56 AM
Website Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)