Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Bad normal errors
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#11
RE: Bad normal errors

Oh, I haven't seen that. I'll give it a try when I go home. Thanks for the help!

08-19-2011, 09:29 AM
Website Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#12
RE: Bad normal errors

Oh great, maybe I should start using the newest blender as well. Actually I have converted a car and it looks incomplete in the editor and game apart from the bad normal errors that is gives. So, maybe this is quad to triangles export problem? Currently I'm using 2.49b version as I recall.
(This post was last modified: 08-19-2011, 10:12 AM by plutomaniac.)
08-19-2011, 10:12 AM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#13
RE: Bad normal errors

No, my performance issue is not related to this.
Though, I'll correct every model with this problem.
I'm gonna remake the map...

08-19-2011, 08:54 PM
Website Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#14
RE: Bad normal errors

Removing doubles doesn't solve the error. I used Blender 2.59
Blender 2.49b does not import the dae files I have...

08-26-2011, 03:41 PM
Website Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#15
RE: Bad normal errors

I started using Blender 2.59 as well. Same issue... Sad
08-26-2011, 03:57 PM
Find Reply
DRedshot Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 11
#16
RE: Bad normal errors

I think in blender there is a panel in the buttons menu for normals. Try clicking that picture of a square (Mesh Tools) then clicking mesh tools more options, and the first option (NSize) should be a number. Try changing it to 1, hopefully that will solve your problem Smile

(sorry, I haven't used blender in a while, so I don't know the Menu's name)

I meant this menu: Smile

[Image: blender_buttons_name.png]
[Image: blender_buttons_mesh2.png]

08-26-2011, 04:35 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#17
RE: Bad normal errors

I did that to a simple shelf and it behaves strange. I will try to edit it in the modeleditor and then update here...
08-26-2011, 05:03 PM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#18
RE: Bad normal errors

Erm, I think it's very different in Blender 2.59
Though, I did something and my object was 1000 times smaller, however it didn't give any bad normal error. I'll try to reproduce that options to see if I'll success.


Last question, how do I give names to objects in 2.59? Because I successfully export the object, but it has no name in model editor Confused

Last edit...

The problem is now solved. I got no bed normal error anymore. I add the names in notepad++ and it works.

Thanks a lot DRedshot and all people trying to help! Your help worked Big Grin

(This post was last modified: 08-26-2011, 09:28 PM by Tanshaydar.)
08-26-2011, 08:06 PM
Website Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#19
RE: Bad normal errors

(08-26-2011, 08:06 PM)Tanshaydar Wrote: Erm, I think it's very different in Blender 2.59
Though, I did something and my object was 1000 times smaller, however it didn't give any bad normal error. I'll try to reproduce that options to see if I'll success.


Last question, how do I give names to objects in 2.59? Because I successfully export the object, but it has no name in model editor Confused

Last edit...

The problem is now solved. I got no bed normal error anymore. I add the names in notepad++ and it works.

Thanks a lot DRedshot and all people trying to help! Your help worked Big Grin

Hey can you make a small guide in the wiki for me/others to solve it as well? Just a small or quick one or at least here? Smile
08-26-2011, 09:34 PM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#20
RE: Bad normal errors

Edit mod (tab)
Object is chosen (a)
Press W -> Remove Doubles
Choose Properties panel
Units -> Metric -> Degrees
Press N and in the new window, Normal Size to 1.000

Export it. It should do, however I'm not sure, I might have skipped one step. You might need to set scaling to 1.000 under Metric Degrees too.

08-26-2011, 09:45 PM
Website Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)