Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Bad normal errors
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#31
RE: Bad normal errors

Blender 2.59 usually tends to export the already existed model without name. I mean, when you open it in Model Editor, editor says it has no name, so cannot bind it to shapes. I corrected this issue by manually adding models's name (like pCube01)

08-30-2011, 08:55 PM
Website Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#32
RE: Bad normal errors

that's because it was made with a different blender version or even another collada plugin. That's my explanation at least...
08-30-2011, 09:16 PM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#33
RE: Bad normal errors

Nope, that's not the problem. For converting new models with textures from scratch, I use collaboration of 2.49b and 2.59
Try to see it in model editor if it has a name.

08-30-2011, 09:29 PM
Website Find Reply
Kinami37 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
#34
RE: Bad normal errors

Well having the same problem, exportet with cinema 4d to .fbx , imported into maya , exportet as .dae and same problem

Length is not 1. Will not cache file!


but i dont know why, first all worked fine, and from the 1 day to the second it changed and wont work!
05-03-2012, 04:16 PM
Find Reply
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#35
RE: Bad normal errors

Thread revival :>

I think it's due to having a "negative distance" on some vertices.
Bad drawing (I have parkinsons while drawing):
[Image: 1LMY2.jpg]

The picture to the left has a positive distance on the green line, while the right has a negative distance on the purple line. This is just my guess :>

I do know however that it causes the .dae to not save a .msh file - which in turn increases loading time on the objects a lot.

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


05-03-2012, 06:16 PM
Find Reply
Kinami37 Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 19
Threads: 2
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 0
#36
RE: Bad normal errors

Well... acoutally everythinke was ok, there were no bad normals, just my messed up maya, so i give it another one, he exportet it and everythin worked, maya exported it as a flat file the whole mesh was meesed up because of opencollade export, so re downloading maya 2011 xD
05-03-2012, 06:54 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)