Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Exception access violation
Author Message
AmbroseBurnside Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #71
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago RE: Exception access violation

Hi guys,

Having the same problem as everybody else in here...have the game on Steam and it crashes before the title screen... I have an NVidia GeForce 8600M GT graphics card and an Intel Core 2 Duo processor. I've followed the instructions on the troubleshooting thread--uninstalling and reinstalling drivers, and reinstalling the game. My hpl log is attached. Any ideas? Thanks!


Attached File(s)
.log  hpl.log (Size: 3.2 KB / Downloads: 68)
09-15-2011 12:04 AM
Find all posts by this user
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 66
Post: #72
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago RE: Exception access violation

Try to run a "verify integrity of game cache" through steam.

09-15-2011 12:40 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
AmbroseBurnside Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #73
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago RE: Exception access violation

Awesome, it's running now! Thanks so much!
09-15-2011 08:38 AM
Find all posts by this user
Beccainspk Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #74
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago RE: Exception access violation

I am getting the same error my graphics card is a radeon x1600 I am not playing on steam.
thanks in advanced for the help


Attached File(s)
.log  hpl.log (Size: 1.59 KB / Downloads: 39)
10-23-2011 12:09 AM
Find all posts by this user
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,015
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 172
Post: #75
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago RE: Exception access violation

You have no graphics card drivers installed.

1. What operating system do you have? Also 32-bit or 64-bit?
2. Is it a laptop or a desktop?

[Image: L72ChX.png]
10-23-2011 06:44 AM
Find all posts by this user
newlaptopuser Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #76
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago RE: Exception access violation

I am running a HP Pavilion laptop with switchable graphics. My laptop has an i7-2670QM processor with integrated HD3000 graphics. I am also using a AMD Radeon (HD 6770M) graphics board with it. I was getting the notorious "Exception Access Violation Error" when trying to run Amnesia. Even though I had used the switchable software to set Amnesia to use the more powerful Radeon board, Amnesia was not recognizing the Radeon board.
Then I found this:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docum...=us&dlc=en
I pressed f10 while rebooting my laptop. I then tabbed over a couple of times and changed the switchable graphics mode from "dynamic" to "fixed" and saved the changes.
I no longer have any problems running the game!
The only negative is that I must be plugged into the wall to run the game (to use the more power intensive Radeon board). When using the battery, my laptop defaults to the HD3000 (more energy efficient anyway).
I hope this helps someone.
12-06-2011 06:29 AM
Find all posts by this user
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,015
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 172
Post: #77
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago RE: Exception access violation

the solution was here all this time:

http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-9942.html

[Image: L72ChX.png]
12-06-2011 04:44 PM
Find all posts by this user
JPPaperstacks Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #78
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago Question RE: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION

I'm new to coding and Amnesia. My Hpl is right here but I don't see much wrong with it besides mentioning initial low level graphics (And that's probably normal right?!) Hahahaha. I can't install any updates for the drivers because they say that my computer doesn't meet the requirements. I get a strange error in BlackBox "Amnesia.exe caused an EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION in module Amnesia.exe at 001B:0051CA18" I'm trying to work on my first custom story and it loads then exits before the level starts or a menu shows. That's when the BlackBox pops up. I tried to make the Amnesia.exe not write protected over any of the sub files but I honestly wouldn't know where to start. I'd really appreciate any help, and I'll keep looking into the problem too I guess. Since I discovered this HPL editor though, and got it to work, It's been non stop between Amnesia and E.Y.E: Divine Cybermancy for me.

Much love,

JPPaperstacks ;D




Version 1.20 - s26ADEE0-539
-------- THE HPL ENGINE LOG ------------
Engine build ID 20101021192547

Creating Engine Modules
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating graphics module
Creating system module
Creating resource module
Creating input module
Creating sound module
Creating physics module
Creating ai module
Creating gui module
Creating generate module
Creating haptic module
Creating scene module
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Resources Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Creating loader handlers
Creating resource managers
Adding loaders to handlers
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Graphics Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Init lowlevel graphics: 1024x768 bpp:32 fs:1 ms:0 gpufmt:2 cap:'Amnesia - The Dark Descent - Loading...' pos:(-1x-1)
Setting video mode: 1024 x 768 - 32 bpp
Init Glew...OK
Setting up OpenGL
Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
Renderer: Radeon X1300/X1550 Series
Version: 2.1.8545 Release
Max texture image units: 16
Max texture coord units: 8
Max user clip planes: 6
Two sided stencil: 1
Vertex Buffer Object: 1
Anisotropic filtering: 1
Max Anisotropic degree: 16
Multisampling: 1
Texture compression: 1
Texture compression S3TC: 1
Auto generate MipMaps: 1
Render to texture: 1
Max draw buffers: 4
Max color render targets: 4
Packed depth-stencil: 1
Texture float: 1
GLSL Version: 1.20
ShaderModel 2: 1
ShaderModel 3: 1
ShaderModel 4: 0
OGL ATIFragmentShader: 1
Setting up G-Bugger: type: 0 texturenum: 3
Adding engine materials
Initializing DevIL
Vendor String: Abysmal Software
Version String: Developer's Image Library (DevIL) 1.6.8pre Aug 12 2006
Version Number: 168
Adding engine post effects
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Sound Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Initializing OpenAL
Available OpenAL devices:
0. Generic Software on SigmaTel Audio(OpenAL default)
Trying to open device 'Generic Software on SigmaTel Audio'... Success!
Number of mono sources: 32
Streaming setup: 4 Buffers x 262144 bytes each
--------------------------------------------------------

Initializing Game Module
--------------------------------------------------------
Adding engine updates
Initializing script functions
--------------------------------------------------------

User Initialization
--------------------------------------------------------
Setting profile: 'dev_user' Path: 'C:\Documents and Settings\Justis\My Documents/Amnesia/Main/dev_user/'
-------- Loading map 'map01.map' ---------
Cache Loading: 2227 ms
Entities: 5460 ms
Compilation: 3 ms
Total: 7729 ms
Meshes created: 20
Bodies created: 10
-------- Loading complete ---------
(This post was last modified: 04-28-2012 01:24 AM by JPPaperstacks.)
04-28-2012 01:21 AM
Find all posts by this user
Cranky Old Man Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 922
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 37
Post: #79
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago RE: Exception access violation

Your graphics card can only support OpenGL 2.0. Amnesia requires OpenGL 2.1. Buy a new graphics card.

Noob scripting tutorial: From Noob to Pro

04-28-2012 02:31 AM
Find all posts by this user
JPPaperstacks Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 26
Joined: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #80
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 4 Days, 16 Minutes, 49 Seconds ago Question RE: Exception access violation

Thank you for a quick reply. :) I joined for this reason. Is it a good idea to keep building on the custom story and just have others test for me!? Because the main Amnesia campaign, Justine, and almost every mod I've downloaded has worked 100% for me. It's just my own custom story that fails on me and I don't know why. It may be the 5,000+ entities in two small rooms, or whatever else it could be, I'm just glad you could pinpoint the problem on my HPL. I can't really buy a new video card at the moment, but thanks so much again!
(04-28-2012 02:31 AM)Cranky Old Man Wrote:  Your graphics card can only support OpenGL 2.0. Amnesia requires OpenGL 2.1. Buy a new graphics card.

04-28-2012 04:13 AM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)