Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
Sound - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-35.html)
+--- Thread: Sound (/thread-5348.html)



Sound - Homicide13 - 11-07-2010

So, I made a sound node in my level, and set the "active" check box unchecked... but the sound still plays when the map starts up. D:
It doesn't make any sense to have a burning sound when there is no fire...
Anybody else have a similar problem? or know how to fix it?

Pretty much what I want to do is keep the sound off but turn it on at a certain point in the game. (I know how to turn it on, I'm just having problems making sure it's not running when I don't want it to be... :/)


RE: Sound - anzki - 11-07-2010

For sounds you should use PlaySoundAtEntity fuction, not the SetEntityActive.


RE: Sound - Homicide13 - 11-07-2010

well I'm currently using
Code:
FadeInSound("Sound_2",0.5f,false);
but that's not what i'm having a problem with, i'm having a problem with the sound not being quiet when the map starts. I would use the PlaySoundAtEntity function, but I want a smaller radius than is default (to prevent it from going through some walls... x3) and I don't think I can configure that with code....


RE: Sound - anzki - 11-07-2010

Don't use sound things.(Those that are in map editor.) They will be active right in the beginning no matter if it's set inactive. To make a sound activate on middle of level, use PlaySoundAtEntity.


RE: Sound - Homicide13 - 11-07-2010

(11-07-2010, 06:33 PM)anzki Wrote: Don't use sound things.(Those that are in map editor.) They will be active right in the beginning no matter if it's set inactive. To make a sound activate on middle of level, use PlaySoundAtEntity.

So in other words there is no way to set the radius of a sound smaller than the default (if it's not running when the map starts)?


RE: Sound - Stangi - 11-07-2010

Quote:So in other words there is no way to set the radius of a sound smaller than the default (if it's not running when the map starts)?

You can edit the .snt file to change the radius and other settings for the sound.


RE: Sound - Homicide13 - 11-07-2010

Hmm, that would mean that anybody playing my map would have to also unpack extra files. Well, I guess it depends on how big/serious this project becomes. Tongue


RE: Sound - anzki - 11-08-2010

You can just include them in your custom story folder. They are not so big.
Make a folder called Sound inside it and place all those custom snt's there. Also you can decide it's name, and I would recommend to change it. (I am not sure how game reacts if you have two sound files with same name.)