Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Closed 
game crashes after intro
Author Message
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #11
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

jimmytwinkle Wrote:The graphical glitches seem to be fixed in fglrx 8.4 but the game still crashes when starting or loading a game with shadows enabled. It's very playable now though.

Are you using the latest patch for linux?

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-02-2008 10:28 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
jimmytwinkle Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

Urkle Wrote:
jimmytwinkle Wrote:The graphical glitches seem to be fixed in fglrx 8.4 but the game still crashes when starting or loading a game with shadows enabled. It's very playable now though.

Are you using the latest patch for linux?

Whichever patch the black plague demo is. The filename of the installer is 'PenumbraBlackPlagueDemo-2567.sh'
Edit: I mean the installer filename is 'PenumbraOvertureDemo-2553.sh' but they are doing the same thing.
Edit2: I just bought the full game so I'll see if I get the same results.
(This post was last modified: 05-04-2008 02:19 AM by Janey.)
05-03-2008 03:05 AM
Find all posts by this user
GroteBlup Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

With fgrlx 8.3 I had render glitches, *UNTIL* I put pixelshaders on max/high quality.
I have an r420/X800 PRO (club 3d X850 something), a 2GHz athlon, and I am running debian/Sid.

I needed the latest versions though: overture version is 2553. The demo and the official game are very playable in highest quality settings (and easy of course, since else I just would have played doom3 ;-0 ) , and black plague (demo only) version 2567.
If I don't max the pixel shaders, I get very anoying render glitches.
The previous (overture) demo version was a good way to (bus)lock my system.
05-06-2008 07:50 PM
Find all posts by this user
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #14
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

If any of you can get screenshots (pressing F12 will save a bmp file to the game directory) Just convert them to png files and attach.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-07-2008 04:00 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
GroteBlup Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

Urkle Wrote:(pressing F12 will save a bmp file to the game directory)
Hmmmm,
What exactly is the game directory?
I assume somewhere in ~/.frictionalgames/.. ?
At least F12 doesn't work for me...
If I look in the settings.cfg, I see something like:
Screenshot_Type="Keyboard" Screenshot_Val="104"
Does that mean the keycode 104, which is cursor down in my case.
Although I cannot relate the flashlight code to 49...
I will look further to get the screenshots working
05-07-2008 04:34 PM
Find all posts by this user
jimmytwinkle Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #16
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

GroteBlup Wrote:
Urkle Wrote:(pressing F12 will save a bmp file to the game directory)
Hmmmm,
What exactly is the game directory?
I assume somewhere in ~/.frictionalgames/.. ?
At least F12 doesn't work for me...
If I look in the settings.cfg, I see something like:
Screenshot_Type="Keyboard" Screenshot_Val="104"
Does that mean the keycode 104, which is cursor down in my case.
Although I cannot relate the flashlight code to 49...
I will look further to get the screenshots working

On my computer the screenshot key was F8 not F12 which I found out after a little bit of experimentation. I attached a couple of screenshots to demonstrate the kind of glitches.
(This post was last modified: 05-07-2008 08:24 PM by Janey.)
05-07-2008 08:23 PM
Find all posts by this user
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #17
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

Which ATI card do you have? And do you have the latest drivers?

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-08-2008 02:46 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
jimmytwinkle Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

Urkle Wrote:Which ATI card do you have? And do you have the latest drivers?

I have a Radeon HD2400Pro with the latest fglrx (8.4)
05-08-2008 09:26 PM
Find all posts by this user
jimmytwinkle Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 7
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Solved: 1 Year, 7 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days, 12 Hours, 7 Minutes, 31 Seconds ago RE: game crashes after intro

The crash with shadows enabled seems to have resolved itself with this months fglrx driver (8.5). Thanks for all your help.
05-23-2008 05:22 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)