Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
I can't make my sound work
Author Message
ingedoom Offline
Member

Posts: 120
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I can't make my sound work

Hi forum

I have the problem that i can't make my sound work.

I put my MP3 in audacity and exported it as .ogg(vorbis) to the "sounds" folder in my CSfolder where i also made a .snt file with the same name.


Here is what my .snt contains:


to play the sound i use:

PlaySoundAtEntity("clock", "clock.snt", "clock_grandfather_1", 2, false);


and i am 100% it is called since since it shows the message that is in the same callback.

Can any of you help me please?

[Image: 23778.png]
(This post was last modified: 03-08-2012 03:28 PM by ingedoom.)
03-07-2012 10:51 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JenniferOrange Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 424
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 33
Post: #2
RE: I can't make my sound work

(03-07-2012 10:51 PM)pingo2 Wrote:  Hi forum

I have the problem that i can't make my sound work.

I put my MP3 in audacity and exported it as .ogg(vorbis) to the "sounds" folder in my CSfolder where i also made a .snt file with the same name.


Here is what my .snt contains:
<SOUNDENTITY>  <SOUNDS>      <Main>          <Sound File="clock" />      </Main>  </SOUNDS>  <PROPERTIES Volume="1" MinDistance="1" MaxDistance="13" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="false" Loop="false" Use3D="false" Blockable="false" BlockVolumeMul="0.5" Priority="0" /></SOUNDENTITY>


to play the sound i use:

PlaySoundAtEntity("clock", "clock.snt", "clock_grandfather_1", 2, false);


and i am 100% it is called since since it shows the message that is in the same callback.

Can any of you help me please?
<SOUNDENTITY>  <SOUNDS>      <Main>          <Sound File="clock.ogg" />      </Main>  </SOUNDS>  <PROPERTIES Volume="1" MinDistance="1" MaxDistance="13" Random="1" Interval="0" FadeEnd="False" FadeStart="False" Stream="false" Loop="false" Use3D="false" Blockable="false" BlockVolumeMul="0.5" Priority="0" /></SOUNDENTITY>


Keep both the .ogg and .snt in your custom stories' name folder, then in a new folder called music. I know it may not be needed but I do anyway, so I don't accidentally delete it.

[Image: button.png]
03-08-2012 12:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Strembitsky Offline
Member

Posts: 246
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 3
Post: #3
RE: I can't make my sound work

There is a high chance your .snt is set up incorrectly. What is in your .snt?

The Nightmares v1.0 - Dreadful Fires WIP
03-08-2012 01:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ingedoom Offline
Member

Posts: 120
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: I can't make my sound work

(03-08-2012 01:56 AM)Strembitsky Wrote:  There is a high chance your .snt is set up incorrectly. What is in your .snt?
I wrote it in the OP, if you eyes slipped by, please look again adove.

[Image: 23778.png]
03-08-2012 07:14 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,475
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 234
Post: #5
RE: I can't make my sound work

As JenniferOrange shows, "clock" != "clock.ogg"

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
03-08-2012 08:21 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ingedoom Offline
Member

Posts: 120
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: I can't make my sound work

So i put my .ogg and .snt into amnesia/csname/ and into
amnesia/csname/music/??
No other custom stories i've seen does that.. Did i understand what u said right? If not; can you then be more specific?
(03-08-2012 08:21 AM)Your Computer Wrote:  As JenniferOrange shows, "clock" != "clock.ogg"
What do you mean by this? Jennifer does not say that.

[Image: 23778.png]
(This post was last modified: 03-08-2012 01:03 PM by ingedoom.)
03-08-2012 01:01 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ingedoom Offline
Member

Posts: 120
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: I can't make my sound work

Well, i made it work by copying a working .snt file from another custom story and just put in the name of my file instead and then changed my script to the same which was used in the cs i took it from. This is a way to do it, but i have not learned much tho... Time to experiment! I suggest others having troubles do the samething.

Thx to the maker of La Caza

[Image: 23778.png]
03-08-2012 03:41 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)