Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Something broke mouse support
Author Message
Argoon Offline
Member

Posts: 103
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #1
Not Solved Something broke mouse support

Today tried to play Amnesia and was unable, because i couldn't move the view around, the mouse works fine in the menus but in game it just stops working, i can move around, jump, etc, just not look around.

This also effects mods.

After some googling found that starting the game using the _nosteam version of the exe the mouse works fine, but unfortunately afaik mods require the normal exe.
02-13-2018 06:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Posts: 3,549
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 192
Post: #2
Not Solved RE: Something broke mouse support

(02-13-2018 06:07 AM)Argoon Wrote:  Today tried to play Amnesia and was unable, because i couldn't move the view around, the mouse works fine in the menus but in game it just stops working, i can move around, jump, etc, just not look around.

Are you on the Windows 10 Falls Creator Update? That update broke a bunch of SDL2 games, which is what Amnesia relies on for Mouse input.

(02-13-2018 06:07 AM)Argoon Wrote:  After some googling found that starting the game using the _nosteam version of the exe the mouse works fine, but unfortunately afaik mods require the normal exe.

First I have ever heard of this. Mods in Amnesia are completely reliant on a resources.cfg file, and full conversion mods can be made to run on the NoSteam branch by simply editing the batch files it comes with with a text editor.

I'm also moving this thread over to Technical Support Smile

Discord: Romulator#0001
[Image: 8f5d099c7b.png]
(This post was last modified: 02-13-2018 07:08 AM by Romulator.)
02-13-2018 07:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Argoon Offline
Member

Posts: 103
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #3
Not Solved RE: Something broke mouse support

Thanks for the reply, I don't really know if i'm on the windows 10 Creator Update i just know i'm on windows 10. I'm not doubting you but if SDL2 is the problem why does the _nosteam version works?

I'm not a Amnesia moder, i just know that some mods gave a error asking for the normal exe if it didn't existed, but i don't really know what you need to do to make them work, can you say what mod file i need to change to point to the nosteam exe at lest as a temporary fix?
(This post was last modified: 02-13-2018 03:10 PM by Argoon.)
02-13-2018 03:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Romulator Offline
Not Tech Support ;-)

Posts: 3,549
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 192
Post: #4
Not Solved RE: Something broke mouse support

(02-13-2018 03:10 PM)Argoon Wrote:  Thanks for the reply, I don't really know if i'm on the windows 10 Creator Update i just know i'm on windows 10. I'm not doubting you but if SDL2 is the problem why does the _nosteam version works?

Oh! I'm not sure honestly, I haven't tested it. I am just taking your word for it that it works. Smile I'll have to certainly test it out.

You can check if you are on the Windows 10 FCU by following the instructions in the below spoiler.

Spoiler below!
[Image: bbe2d4fa15.png]

(02-13-2018 03:10 PM)Argoon Wrote:  I'm not a Amnesia moder, i just know that some mods gave a error asking for the normal exe if it didn't existed, but i don't really know what you need to do to make them work, can you say what mod file i need to change to point to the nosteam exe at lest as a temporary fix?

For a general, standard custom story accessed from Amnesia's menu, nothing will need to be changed so long as the resources.cfg file has this line in it appended to the bottom.

PHP Code: (Select All)
<Directory Path="/custom_stories" AddSubDirs="true" /> 

For a Full Conversion mod, depending on what OS you are playing Amnesia on, the file to edit will be either a .bat, .command or .sh file. With those files, you would open the files with a text editor and change any instance of Amnesia.exe or Launcher.exe to point to the Amnesia_NoSteam.exe.

Furthermore, if the custom story does not run, the main_init.cfg file needs to be edited to include directories to SDL2, which can be fixed by comparing Amnesia's main_init.cfg file to the CS' one.

Discord: Romulator#0001
[Image: 8f5d099c7b.png]
(This post was last modified: 02-14-2018 06:59 AM by Romulator.)
02-14-2018 06:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Argoon Offline
Member

Posts: 103
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: 3
Post: #5
Not Solved RE: Something broke mouse support

Thanks for the info it seems i'm on a old windows 10 version (1607), so it most not be windows 10 Creator Update. I'm trying to play Penumbra - Necrologue and i don't find any .cmd .bat or .sh file in the mod folder or in the Amnesia root folder, i'm playing from steam btw. Whats even strange is that, if I delete the normal amnesia.exe and rename the amnesia_nosteam.exe to the other, the no steam version behaves exactly like the original exe, no mouse support, so this makes me think something is breaking based on the exe name, not on what it really calls or contains.
(This post was last modified: 02-18-2018 03:23 PM by Argoon.)
02-18-2018 03:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Mudbill Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 3,599
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 168
Post: #6
Not Solved RE: Something broke mouse support

Well, the name really shouldn't have anything to do with it, but what might affect it is that Steam itself will detect the file name, so if you replace the executable that Steam wants to use, it will use the new version without really thinking about it. This might suggest that Steam is causing some issue?

(This post was last modified: 02-20-2018 02:43 AM by Mudbill.)
02-20-2018 02:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Please answer:



User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)