Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to Improve ram usage
Author Message
Caterpillar Offline
Member

Posts: 77
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Not Solved How to Improve ram usage

I have 16 gb of ram in my system. Does exist a setting that can improve Amnesia ram usage to make shorter levels loading?
03-31-2011 12:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #2
Not Solved RE: How to Improve ram usage

Are you running the 32bit or 64bit linux binary? What CPU do you have? What graphics card do you have?

Load time is really dependent on disk, CPU, and graphics card speed. The levels themselves are pre-cached so that loading is fairly quick. There is a setting (which should be enabled by default) which forces amnesia to ONLY use the cache files. If, for some reason, that is OFF and your cache files have the wrong timestamp, AND Amnesia can not write to the game directory, then it will be rebuilding levels on every startup which is very slow.

Can you post your main_settings.cfg file that is located in your ~/.frictionalgames/Amnesia/Main ?

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
03-31-2011 01:27 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Caterpillar Offline
Member

Posts: 77
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Not Solved RE: How to Improve ram usage

I think I'm running the 64bit, but how can I check if it is 64 or 32?

Phenom II X2 550 BE
GeForce GTX 260 896 MB ram

The game is fast to change levels, but I was wondering about making it really istant


<Main ShowMenu="true" ExitMenuDirectly="false" SaveConfig="true" DefaultProfileName="dev_user" StartLanguage="italian.lang" UpdateLogActive="false" LoadDebugMenu="false" ScreenShotExt="jpg" ForceCacheLoadingAndSkipSaving="true" ShowPreMenu="true" />
<Graphics TextureQuality="0" TextureFilter="2" TextureAnisotropy="16.000000" Gamma="1.100000" Shadows="1" SSAOActive="true" SSAOSamples="16" ShadowQuality="2" ShadowResolution="2" SSAOResolution="1" ParallaxEnabled="true" WorldReflection="true" EdgeSmooth="true" GBufferType="0" NumOfGBufferTextures="3" OcclusionTestLights="true" Refraction="true" ShadowsActive="true" ParallaxQuality="0" ForceShaderModel3And4Off="false" PostEffectBloom="true" PostEffectImageTrail="true" PostEffectSepia="true" PostEffectRadialBlur="true" PostEffectInsanity="true" />
<Engine LimitFPS="true" SleepWhenOutOfFocus="true" />
<Screen Width="1680" Height="1050" FullScreen="true" Vsync="false" />
<Physics PhysicsAccuracy="2" UpdatesPerSec="60.000000" />
<Sound Device="0" Volume="1.000000" MaxChannels="32" StreamBuffers="4" StreamBufferSize="262144" />
<MapLoad FastPhysicsLoad="false" FastStaticLoad="false" FastEntityLoad="false" />
03-31-2011 01:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 3,546
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 168
Post: #4
Not Solved RE: How to Improve ram usage

There is no specific Amnesia settings for such a "tweak". You can create a RAM disk (a portion of your RAM that computer treats as a harddrive) and then install amnesia onto it and run from there I suppose.
03-31-2011 01:53 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 20
Post: #5
Not Solved RE: How to Improve ram usage

There's just a LOT of stuff begin loaded, so I don't think an "instant" is feasible. Possibly using a RAM disk *may* help.. (ie. tempfs or something similar)

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
04-01-2011 04:58 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Image Verification
Please enter the text within the image on the left in to the text box below. This process is used to prevent automated posts.



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)