Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
error message
Author Message
mr.bonent Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
error message

Ok.. I did that stuff right here --
-> http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/amn...evenvguide
Now if I want to start the game, comes this error message.


Attached File(s)
.jpg  error.jpg (Size: 5.18 KB / Downloads: 4)
05-28-2011 10:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #2
RE: error message

What does your files look like?

05-28-2011 10:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mr.bonent Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: error message

like this:


Quote:<Main ShowMenu="false" ExitMenuDirectly="true" SaveConfig="false" DefaultProfileName="dev_user" StartLanguage="german.lang" UpdateLogActive="false" LoadDebugMenu="true" ScreenShotExt="jpg" ShowPreMenu="false" />
<Graphics TextureQuality="0" TextureFilter="2" TextureAnisotropy="16.000000" Gamma="0.700000" Shadows="1" SSAOActive="true" SSAOSamples="16" ShadowQuality="2" ShadowResolution="2" WorldReflection="true" SSAOResolution="0" EdgeSmooth="true" ParallaxEnabled="true" ParallaxQuality="0" GBufferType="0" NumOfGBufferTextures="3" Refraction="true" ShadowsActive="true" ForceShaderModel3And4Off="false" PostEffectBloom="true" PostEffectImageTrail="true" PostEffectSepia="true" PostEffectRadialBlur="true" PostEffectInsanity="true" />
<Engine LimitFPS="true" SleepWhenOutOfFocus="true" />
<Screen Width="1024" Height="768" FullScreen="true" Vsync="false" />
<Physics PhysicsAccuracy="2" UpdatesPerSec="60.000000" />
<Sound Device="0" Volume="1.000000" MaxChannels="32" StreamBuffers="4" StreamBufferSize="262144" />
<MapLoad FastPhysicsLoad="false" FastStaticLoad="false" FastEntityLoad="false" />

and this..

Quote:<Game ShowCommentary="false" ShowCrossHair="true" FocusIconStyle="Default" ShowDeathHints="true" ShowSubtitles="true" ShowEffectSubtitles="false" ShowHints="true" />
<Debug ShowFPS="false" ShowSoundPlaying="false" ShowPlayerInfo="false" ShowEntityInfo="false" SaveCheckPointOnMapLoad="false" AllowQuickSave=“true” ShowDebugMessages="false" UseProgLog="false" ScriptDebugOn="true" InspectionMode="false" DisableFlashBacks="false" DrawPhysics="false" />
<Input InvertMouse="false" SmoothMouse="true" MouseSensitivity="1.000000" />
<Map File="testmap.map" Folder=“MyMaps/” StartPos="" />
05-28-2011 10:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #4
RE: error message

So you were trying to set up a dev environment?

I personally would change it back mostly because it never exactly works the way I want it to work. :/

This is what mine looks like:

Quote:<Main ShowMenu="true" ExitMenuDirectly="false" SaveConfig="true" DefaultProfileName="dev_user" UpdateLogActive="false" LoadDebugMenu="true" StartLanguage="english.lang" ScreenShotExt="jpg" ShowPreMenu="false" ForceCacheLoadingAndSkipSaving="false" />
<Graphics TextureQuality="0" TextureFilter="2" TextureAnisotropy="16.000000" Gamma="1.000000" Shadows="1" SSAOActive="true" SSAOSamples="16" ShadowQuality="2" ShadowResolution="2" WorldReflection="true" SSAOResolution="1" EdgeSmooth="true" ParallaxEnabled="true" ParallaxQuality="0" GBufferType="0" NumOfGBufferTextures="3" Refraction="true" ShadowsActive="true" ForceShaderModel3And4Off="false" PostEffectBloom="true" PostEffectImageTrail="true" PostEffectSepia="true" PostEffectRadialBlur="true" PostEffectInsanity="true" OcclusionTestLights="true" />
<Engine LimitFPS="true" SleepWhenOutOfFocus="true" />
<Screen Width="1024" Height="768" FullScreen="false" Vsync="false" />
<Physics PhysicsAccuracy="2" UpdatesPerSec="60.000000" />
<Sound Device="0" Volume="1.000000" MaxChannels="32" StreamBuffers="4" StreamBufferSize="262144" />
<MapLoad FastPhysicsLoad="false" FastStaticLoad="false" FastEntityLoad="false" />

And

Quote:<Game ShowCommentary="false" ShowCrossHair="true" FocusIconStyle="Default" ShowDeathHints="true" ShowSubtitles="true" ShowEffectSubtitles="false" ShowHints="true" />
<Debug ShowFPS="false" ShowSoundPlaying="false" ShowPlayerInfo="false" ShowEntityInfo="false" SaveCheckPointOnMapLoad="false" ShowDebugMessages="true" UseProgLog="false" ScriptDebugOn="true" InspectionMode="false" DisableFlashBacks="false" DrawPhysics="false" ReloadFromCurrentPosition="true" AllowQuickSave="false" />
<Input InvertMouse="false" SmoothMouse="true" MouseSensitivity="1.000000" />
<Map File="StartHouse.map" Folder="Le Meurtrier\Maps\ch01\" StartPos="PlayerStartArea_1" />

05-28-2011 10:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mr.bonent Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: error message

wow it works! ^^
Thank you very much!
until later!
05-28-2011 10:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #6
RE: error message

(05-28-2011 10:50 PM)mr.bonent Wrote:  wow it works! ^^
Thank you very much!
until later!

Are you translating this from English to German?

05-28-2011 10:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mr.bonent Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: error message

because of "until later" ? ^^
05-28-2011 11:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #8
RE: error message

I don't know. :/

I was kind of bored and I noticed that it says german.lang

Tongue

05-28-2011 11:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mr.bonent Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: error message

whats with the files .lang, .png and others? Do I need other files like this?
how should I continue?

greets
05-28-2011 11:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Kyle Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 911
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 7
Post: #10
RE: error message

.lang is at the end of a language pack.
.png is at the end of a picture.

A custom story has many endings involved.

There are the .hps which are script files
There are the .lang for example: extra_english.lang
There are the .cfg for configuration for example: custom_story_settings.cfg
There are the .map which are for map files
There are the .map_cache which store map data

05-29-2011 12:05 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)