Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
Computer Help Please?
Author Message
TGST Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #11
RE: Computer Help Please?

(06-18-2011 10:57 AM)Krimbo Wrote:  Oh right.
Well I'm guessing EVGA are the best as they're the most expensive aha.

So confusing. Haha.
I'm not too sure what my motherboard is but I'm certain its a SAMSUNG.

If I have an i5 Processor at the moment.
Surely the i7 is the same fitment?
Therefore wouldn't need a motherboard.

Well some of the motherboards support the i5 and i7 series both. But can't really tell what's the case with your motherboard, and even if it would support both the series, there can be differences in the needed socket type within the processor series. And I'm sorry but I was mistaken with the graphic card thing. You have to check the card's bus support. In most cases it's something like PCI-E 2.0 x 16.

EDIT: Can't seem to find your type of processor anywhere. I only found Intel Core i7 720QM.
(This post was last modified: 06-18-2011 11:33 AM by TGST.)
06-18-2011 11:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Krimbo Offline
Member

Posts: 53
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #12
RE: Computer Help Please?

Ok.

Oh right. Well I'll find that out then Smile

Well thanks for the help man.
I think I'll go for the 570, upgrade my RAM and get an external harddrive.

I'll probably leave the processor. Seems so much hassle.
Right.
I've done some research.

I'm thinking.

This motherboard -
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gigabyte-GA-X58A...roduct_top
Its the Gigabyte common motherboard for i7 upgrades.

With this i7 950 quad @ 3.06ghz -
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-i7-950-Qua...B002A6G3V2

Plus the GTX 570 ontop of that.
Seems like a tank machine to me?
Tongue
(This post was last modified: 06-18-2011 12:07 PM by Krimbo.)
06-18-2011 11:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
TGST Offline
Member

Posts: 101
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 2
Post: #13
RE: Computer Help Please?

(06-18-2011 11:50 AM)Krimbo Wrote:  Ok.

Oh right. Well I'll find that out then Smile

Well thanks for the help man.
I think I'll go for the 570, upgrade my RAM and get an external harddrive.

I'll probably leave the processor. Seems so much hassle.
Right.
I've done some research.

I'm thinking.

This motherboard -
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gigabyte-GA-X58A...roduct_top
Its the Gigabyte common motherboard for i7 upgrades.

With this i7 950 quad @ 3.06ghz -
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-i7-950-Qua...B002A6G3V2

Plus the GTX 570 ontop of that.
Seems like a tank machine to me?
Tongue

It seems good, but I would suggest you to buy these:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Gigabyte-GA-P67A...865&sr=1-3 and http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-Sandybridg...41&sr=1-1, but only if you have the money of course. The processor is really high-end at the time. (And the price for it's power is really low.
06-18-2011 01:30 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Krimbo Offline
Member

Posts: 53
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
RE: Computer Help Please?

Even better haha.
We'll see Tongue
06-18-2011 02:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
GraphicsKid Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 259
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 3
Post: #15
RE: Computer Help Please?

Hey what a coincidence! I'm a system builder myself and I just got finished ordering parts for my brother's PC.

First off, if you're looking to be frugal -- which you should always be when shopping for computer parts, cutting edge now will be obsolete in a year -- then NEVER EVER buy the "latest and greatest", buy just below it. For instance, the 580s are VERY expensive now... but the 560 is about half the price even though it's quite a bit more than just half as powerful.

What you need to do first is figure out what kind of CPU you need. Honestly, the i5 you have now should be just fine. You need to figure out what kind of socket that cpu requires if you're going to be upgrading your motherboard... though really you should only upgrade your mobo if it doesn't support the amount of ram you want (I recommend 4 or 8 gigs... 4 is probably enough for just a few apps going at a time with a game, or you should choose 8 if you want to err on the side of caution).

I don't know what kind of mobo you have right now, but you need to make sure the ram you buy will work in that motherboard. If you buy DDR3 ram, the mobo needs to support that. If the ram is DDR3 1333, then the motherboard needs to support 1333 speed ram.

If you have a motherboard with dual channel memory (you'll see 4 slots for ram, not just 2) then you should buy FOUR sticks of ram, not just 2... it's actually faster to have all the channels filled than just 2. (so for 8 gigs of ram, you should get 4 of the 2gb sticks... or DIMMS as they're known). As far as brands go... I HIGHLY recommend corsair, and I discourage G.Skill... that cheap crap failed on me within 6 months.

EDIT: Oh and as long as your motherboard now has a PCI express x16 slot... you should be able to use any graphics card you like in that thing.

Hope this helps!
(This post was last modified: 06-21-2011 04:09 AM by GraphicsKid.)
06-21-2011 04:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)