Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
how to make a sound play in a area? - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods - Development (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-38.html)
+---- Forum: Development Support (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-39.html)
+---- Thread: how to make a sound play in a area? (/thread-21030.html)



how to make a sound play in a area? - Yoilickturtles - 04-03-2013

Hey. I wonder how you make sounds of example flies, come from a dead body? Smile


RE: how to make a sound play in a area? - OriginalUsername - 04-03-2013

PlaySoundAtEntity
You should look here first before asking these questions.


RE: how to make a sound play in a area? - Yoilickturtles - 04-03-2013

(04-03-2013, 01:51 PM)Smoke Wrote: PlaySoundAtEntity
You should look here first before asking these questions.
Yea I know but it dont loop.


RE: how to make a sound play in a area? - Rapture - 04-03-2013

If you know how to use Timers, you will want to loop them back on themselves to constantly play the sound you want.

You can use
Code:
AddTimer(string& asName, float afTime, string& asFunction);
and loop the timer back on it's self to replay the sound over and over.

Just make sure the function you call is a timer, and use
Code:
RemoveTimer(string& asName);
to stop the timer.


RE: how to make a sound play in a area? - Yoilickturtles - 04-03-2013

(04-03-2013, 01:57 PM)Rapture Wrote: If you know how to use Timers, you will want to loop them back on themselves to constantly play the sound you want.

You can use
Code:
AddTimer(string& asName, float afTime, string& asFunction);
and loop the timer back on it's self to replay the sound over and over.

Just make sure the function you call is a timer, and use
Code:
RemoveTimer(string& asName);
to stop the timer.
Ok, gonna try it out


RE: how to make a sound play in a area? - PutraenusAlivius - 04-03-2013

Use a sound area for that.


RE: how to make a sound play in a area? - OriginalUsername - 04-03-2013

open the .snt file. Look up "loop=false". Change false to true. Done!


RE: how to make a sound play in a area? - Yoilickturtles - 04-03-2013

(04-03-2013, 03:40 PM)Smoke Wrote: open the .snt file. Look up "loop=false". Change false to true. Done!
Ah it worked, thank you smoke! Smile