Frictional Games Forum (read-only)
How do i make a monster appear with a trigger (solution) - Printable Version

+- Frictional Games Forum (read-only) (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Amnesia: The Dark Descent (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-6.html)
+--- Forum: Custom Stories, TCs & Mods (https://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/forum-35.html)
+--- Thread: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger (solution) (/thread-5103.html)

Pages: 1 2


How do i make a monster appear with a trigger (solution) - Mman235 - 10-18-2010

How would i make a monster appear at trigger or what script would i use could someone please help me thank youUndecided sry if its already been answer


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger - Vincent - 10-18-2010

Make it a hallucination? Tongue


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger - Mman235 - 10-18-2010

(10-18-2010, 07:50 PM)Vincent Wrote: Make it a hallucination? Tongue

no i mean make them appear after you go down a corridor so they chase you


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger - Vincent - 10-18-2010

(10-18-2010, 07:51 PM)Mman235 Wrote:
(10-18-2010, 07:50 PM)Vincent Wrote: Make it a hallucination? Tongue

no i mean make them appear after you go down a corridor so they chase you

Dunno, I'm not the greatest scripter ever...


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger - Mman235 - 10-18-2010

(10-18-2010, 08:00 PM)Vincent Wrote:
(10-18-2010, 07:51 PM)Mman235 Wrote:
(10-18-2010, 07:50 PM)Vincent Wrote: Make it a hallucination? Tongue

no i mean make them appear after you go down a corridor so they chase you

Dunno, I'm not the greatest scripter ever...

i dont have any scripting knowledge at all lolBig Grin


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger - Kyle - 10-18-2010

Here ya go. "ScriptArea_1" is the name of the script area where you collide which causes the monster to spawn. "MonsterFunc1" is the name of the function used later on when you want to add to the script instead of it doing nothing. "servant_grunt" is the name of the monster that spawns. If you don't know how to actually place a scriptarea or to place and setup a monster, then ask me. Smile

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player" , "ScriptArea_1" , "MonsterFunc1" , true , 1);
}
void MonsterFunc1(string &in asParent , string &in asChild , int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt" , true);
}


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger - Mman235 - 10-18-2010

(10-18-2010, 08:06 PM)Kyle Wrote: Here ya go. "ScriptArea_1" is the name of the script area where you collide which causes the monster to spawn. "MonsterFunc1" is the name of the function used later on when you want to add to the script instead of it doing nothing. "servant_grunt" is the name of the monster that spawns. If you don't know how to actually place a scriptarea or to place and setup a monster, then ask me. Smile

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player" , "ScriptArea_1" , "MonsterFunc1" , true , 1);
}
void MonsterFunc1(string &in asParent , string &in asChild , int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt" , true);
}
ok thank you Big Grin
(10-18-2010, 08:06 PM)Kyle Wrote: Here ya go. "ScriptArea_1" is the name of the script area where you collide which causes the monster to spawn. "MonsterFunc1" is the name of the function used later on when you want to add to the script instead of it doing nothing. "servant_grunt" is the name of the monster that spawns. If you don't know how to actually place a scriptarea or to place and setup a monster, then ask me. Smile

void OnStart()
{
AddEntityCollideCallback("Player" , "ScriptArea_1" , "MonsterFunc1" , true , 1);
}
void MonsterFunc1(string &in asParent , string &in asChild , int alState)
{
SetEntityActive("servant_grunt" , true);
}

ive got another problem the monster is spawned from the start


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger - theDARKW0LF - 10-18-2010

That's because you have to select the monster entity, and make sure the "active" box is unchecked, so when you collide with the script area, it activates him.


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger - Mman235 - 10-18-2010

(10-18-2010, 08:51 PM)theDARKW0LF Wrote: That's because you have to select the monster entity, and make sure the "active" box is unchecked, so when you collide with the script area, it activates him.

k thanks darkwolf and kyle


RE: How do i make a monster appear with a trigger (solution) - Kyle - 10-18-2010

No problem, anytime. Smile