Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Couldn't find any suitable frontend
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#11
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

try
./Downloads/penumbra_overture_1.1.sh -f ncurses
or
./Downloads/penumbra_overture_1.1.sh -f fltk

and I just checked though and the version of nixstaller I'm using doesn't have the old libstdc++ requirement of previous versions.. it only depends on libc and X.

IF neither of those two above work try this
./Downloads/penumbra_overture_1.1.sh --keep --target TEMP --noexec

Then run
ldd TEMP/bin/linux/*/*/*

and paste the output here.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-08-2010, 12:11 AM
Website Find
kweinert Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#12
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

(05-08-2010, 12:11 AM)Urkle Wrote: try
./Downloads/penumbra_overture_1.1.sh -f ncurses

kenw@fortytwo:~/Downloads$ ./penumbra_overture_1.1.sh -f ncurses
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Installer for Penumbra: Overture.............
Uncompressing sub archive..............................................................................................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86_64
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system

kenw@fortytwo:~$ sudo apt-get install libncurses5
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree      
Reading state information... Done
libncurses5 is already the newest version.

(05-08-2010, 12:11 AM)Urkle Wrote:
./Downloads/penumbra_overture_1.1.sh -f fltk

kenw@fortytwo:~/Downloads$ ./penumbra_overture_1.1.sh -f fltk
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Installer for Penumbra: Overture.............
Uncompressing sub archive..............................................................................................
Collecting info for this system...
Operating system: linux
CPU Arch: x86_64
Error: Couldn't find any suitable frontend for your system


kenw@fortytwo:~$ sudo apt-get install libfltk1.1
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree      
Reading state information... Done
libfltk1.1 is already the newest version.

(05-08-2010, 12:11 AM)Urkle Wrote:
./Downloads/penumbra_overture_1.1.sh --keep --target TEMP --noexec

Then run
ldd TEMP/bin/linux/*/*/*

and paste the output here.

kenw@fortytwo:~/Downloads$ ./penumbra_overture_1.1.sh --keep --target TEMP --noexec
Creating directory TEMP
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing Installer for Penumbra: Overture.............
kenw@fortytwo:~/Downloads$ ldd TEMP/bin/linux/*/*/*
TEMP/bin/linux/x86_64/libc.so.6/lzma-decode:
    linux-vdso.so.1 =>  (0x00007fff2bfde000)
    libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x00007f0a2949c000)
    /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00007f0a2984a000)
TEMP/bin/linux/x86/libc.so.6/lzma-decode:
    linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xf77bc000)
    libc.so.6 => /lib32/libc.so.6 (0xf7635000)
    /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xf77bd000)
05-08-2010, 03:20 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#13
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

Ncurses and fltk are statically linked so no need to install them.

Ok. Go into the TEMP directory and run the startupinstqller.sh script. And then rerun the ldd statementp (you should have more binaries)

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
(This post was last modified: 06-03-2010, 12:10 AM by Urkle.)
05-08-2010, 03:36 PM
Website Find
kweinert Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#14
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

(05-08-2010, 03:36 PM)Urkle Wrote: Ncurses and flak are statically linked so no need to install them.

Ok. Go into the TEMP directory and run the startupinstqller.sh script. And then rerun the ldd statementp (you should have more binaries)

Ah, didn't realize that and just wanted to be sure.

So, I run the startupinstaller.sh script and it installs.

Now I have a different problem (not all the image shows on the screen) but I'll head back to the forum to look for a solution to that. Best not to pollute this thread with a non-related branch.

My issue is resolved, but feel free to contact me if you have something you'd like me to test out so the installer works without having to run this workaround.
05-08-2010, 03:54 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#15
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

(05-08-2010, 03:54 PM)kweinert Wrote: My issue is resolved, but feel free to contact me if you have something you'd like me to test out so the installer works without having to run this workaround.

I'm going to link this thread with to the author of the installer I'm using to see if he can make any sense out of it.. But glad it finally installed. oh.. I wonder if you didn't have enough disk space in your tmp dir???

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
05-08-2010, 05:31 PM
Website Find
kweinert Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 0
Joined: May 2010
Reputation: 0
#16
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

df /tmp
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
tmpfs                   524288       128    524160   1% /tmp

Good thought - I don't know how much is needed.

Seems like a strange error message for an out of space error, especially since the md5sum is checked after unpacking. Could be a later step though.

Thanks again for your help in getting it resolved.
05-08-2010, 05:38 PM
Find
Snospar Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
#17
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

Just wanted to confirm that I had exactly the same issue on Ubuntu 9.10 (with the correct 32-bit libs installed) and it was caused by a lack of space on /tmp. For info, I had less than 512MB space when the install failed and when I increased the /tmp size to 1G the problem was solved.

A less cryptic message from the installer would be nice Wink
06-02-2010, 09:01 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#18
Solved: 4 Years, 3 Months, 1 Week ago RE: Couldn't find any suitable frontend

I'll pass that along to the developer.. another option would be to pass a --target parameter when running the install script so it uses a different directory for extracting the installer.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
06-03-2010, 12:11 AM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)