Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Scripting fatal errors?
Rapsis Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 6
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
#21
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

(10-26-2012, 04:35 PM)The chaser Wrote:
(10-26-2012, 04:29 PM)Rapsis Wrote: Alright, now I'm trying to make a skybox, and oh boy am I pissed.
I've been trying to make one for around 4 or 5 hours I think; I have to figure everything out by myself because I can't find any USEFUL tutorials on the internet.
So, I have GIMP with the .dds plugin.
I can't find any single fucking skybox on the internet.
Some tutorials say "Download a .CUBEMAP file from this place, it's FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!":
http://www.cgskies.com/sky.php?sky=338&t...&pagesize=

(I need daytime to add some contrast)
The fucking thing is, THERE IS NO .CUBEMAP FILE, JUST A DAMN JPG OR SOME SOME SHIT LIKE THAT.
Can any one explain this shit like you would explain it to a retard? I don't get this crap AT ALL.
Caaalm down, Rapsis. You don't need any .CUBEMAP, for what I know. Just a .dds. Any .dds should work. But, remain to choose a big image and that ends with a multiple of 2.
Where do I get a .dds???
10-26-2012, 04:38 PM
Find Reply
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 113
#22
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

Gimp, open image, export as .dds. Simple as that.

THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
[Image: k6vbdhu]

Aculy iz dolan.
10-26-2012, 04:42 PM
Find Reply
Rapsis Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 6
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
#23
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

...Ok, then what do I do whit that file? There's supposed to be 6 of them.
10-26-2012, 04:49 PM
Find Reply
The chaser Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 2,486
Threads: 76
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 113
#24
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

Six of them? Didn't know it. Anyway, try to use any image. Any image. Just to see if it works.

My 400 post, whoa!

THE OTHERWORLD (WIP)
[Image: k6vbdhu]

Aculy iz dolan.
10-26-2012, 05:04 PM
Find Reply
Rapsis Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 6
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
#25
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

Argh! Doesn't work! Need an expert over here!

Congratulations, by the way!
10-26-2012, 06:32 PM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#26
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

(10-26-2012, 06:32 PM)Rapsis Wrote: Argh! Doesn't work! Need an expert over here!

Congratulations, by the way!
If need be, open a environment image/cubemap from your amnesia redist/textures/envmaps/ in either Gimp or Photoshop (I use and will explain Photoshop. I'm not sure if gimp does it differently). Each image in there is a power of 2. It can be 512x512, 768x768, or 1024x1024. You will see it is 1:6 ratio, making the actual dimensions 512x3072, 768x4608, or 1024x6144. Add your 6 images in there according to how you see the layout of the images.

Example (images based on axis):
[+x][-x][+y/Top][-y/Bottom][+z][-z]

Once they are all placed, you will have to save as a .dds and make sure the exporter is set to Cubemap, NOT 2D texture. It should save and you can now use it in the level editor. You may also need to flip some images horizontally. Play with the images until they are read correctly.

Here's a skybox I made that you can reference off of as well:
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-18820.html

I believe the skyboxes you see in CG textures are HDR compatible and are not suited for Amnesia's skybox. They are used for model renders and movies mostly in a model program such as Autodesk Maya.
(This post was last modified: 10-26-2012, 06:53 PM by Statyk.)
10-26-2012, 06:48 PM
Find Reply
Rapsis Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 6
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
#27
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

(10-26-2012, 06:48 PM)Statyk Wrote:
(10-26-2012, 06:32 PM)Rapsis Wrote: Argh! Doesn't work! Need an expert over here!

Congratulations, by the way!
If need be, open a environment image/cubemap from your amnesia redist/textures/envmaps/ in either Gimp or Photoshop (I use and will explain Photoshop. I'm not sure if gimp does it differently). Each image in there is a power of 2. It can be 512x512, 768x768, or 1024x1024. You will see it is 1:6 ratio, making the actual dimensions 512x3072, 768x4608, or 1024x6144. Add your 6 images in there according to how you see the layout of the images.

Example (images based on axis):
[+x][-x][+y/Top][-y/Bottom][+z][-z]

Once they are all placed, you will have to save as a .dds and make sure the exporter is set to Cubemap, NOT 2D texture. It should save and you can now use it in the level editor. You may also need to flip some images horizontally. Play with the images until they are read correctly.

Here's a skybox I made that you can reference off of as well:
http://www.frictionalgames.com/forum/thread-18820.html

I believe the skyboxes you see in CG textures are HDR compatible and are not suited for Amnesia's skybox. They are used for model renders and movies mostly in a model program such as Autodesk Maya.
I have no idea how to use GIMP, Photoshop included, I just didn't want to buy it. It would be awesome for some pics, because I have no idea what those powers and other stuff means.
10-26-2012, 07:15 PM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#28
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

GIMP is free. And if you don't have Photoshop, my screenshots would be kinda pointless. =\ Open one of the envmaps from Amnesia and use that as a base.
10-26-2012, 07:22 PM
Find Reply
Rapsis Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 6
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
#29
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

I got photoshop's free trial:
[Image: 30agx7p.png]
(I used a some sky I had from another mod)
The thing is, when I use this in-game, half of the skybox is missing, looks damn terrible.
10-27-2012, 11:28 AM
Find Reply
Rapsis Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 6
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 0
#30
RE: Scripting fatal errors?

Found a way to hide it, now I have another problem: I made a function where the player gets hurt and a sound plays: well, the player DOES get hurt, but no sound whatsoever:


void hotdoorpain_1(string &in asEntity)
{
GivePlayerDamage(5, "BloodSplat", true, false);
PlaySoundAtEntity("", "slime_attack_normal_hit01.snt", "player", 0, false);
}

What am I doing wrong?
10-27-2012, 02:15 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)