Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
CTD in wine cellar map
Bucic Offline
Member

Posts: 145
Threads: 27
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 3
#1
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago CTD in wine cellar map

It's the first CTD I've experienced with Amnesia. Now it Crashes To Desktop every time I enter the first lower room in the Wine Cellar, always after passing the centre spot of the room. Same with the other room - the game crashes after I step after a certain location in the other room with the oil barrell.

Amnesia from Humble Bundle installed as per http://mumble.knobgoblin.org.uk/amnesia.cgi (64 bit)
Fedora 18 default
AMD Mobility Radeon HD3650 Catalyst 13.1
Thinkpad T500 with C2D 2.53 and 8 GB of RAM
Recent system changes:
Updated kernel and, it probably updated as a follow-up to the kernel update, kmod-catalyst-legacy. I can provide details of the update proces down to a single package and version using yum history info command.

EDIT:
Some info I've acquired from Fedora ABRT:
Process /usr/share/amnesia64/Amnesia.bin64 was killed by signal 11 (SIGSEGV)
crash_function: hpl::cMaterial::GetTexture(hpl::eMaterialTexture)
amnesia-1.2.1-1


Attached Files
.log   hpl.log (Size: 7.43 KB / Downloads: 10)

Grphc mods
[Image: moddb_88x31_v12.png]
(This post was last modified: 02-17-2013, 07:06 PM by Bucic.)
02-17-2013, 05:43 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#2
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: CTD in wine cellar map

The reason for you issues are most likely related to the src.rpm package you are using.. It has replaced ALL of the included libraries with system libraries.. However this can not be done. Specifically libIL (DevIL). has a bug in the latest 1.7.8 release which fails to load cube-maps from DDS files. If you look at the hpl.log you will see numerous errors that the bitmap has to few images. (1 instead of 6).

Also in the initialization section of the log file there is this big warning.
***** WARNING *****
Expecting IL version 168 and found version 178
Cube Maps may not load correctly in this version and will not render correctly in game
Please use the included version of libIL and not a custom build if you have issues
***** WARNING *****

So, the libIL build (1.6.8) MUST be used for Amnesia, for the people building the RPM, they simply need to include it in the lib and lib64 folders of the respective RPMS.. (the application binary is built with binreloc and an RPATH of $ORIGIN/lib or $ORIGIN/lib64 so it will ALWAYS find the game data and libraries without a wrapper shell script)

I just sent of an email to the mumble RPM guys to have them correct the nosrc.rpm as well.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
(This post was last modified: 02-17-2013, 08:31 PM by Urkle.)
02-17-2013, 08:21 PM
Website Find
Bucic Offline
Member

Posts: 145
Threads: 27
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 3
#3
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: CTD in wine cellar map

So, how do I fix my current install or how do I reinstall? Less importantly - why it ran fine for two hours until now?

Grphc mods
[Image: moddb_88x31_v12.png]
02-17-2013, 08:33 PM
Find
Urkle Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 1,172
Threads: 31
Joined: Jul 2006
Reputation: 21
#4
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: CTD in wine cellar map

Cubemaps aren't used throughout the game.. And I would suggest starting by using the official installer and seeing if the issue occurs there.

Developing away on one of
Multiple Macs running 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, and 10.9.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
02-17-2013, 08:35 PM
Website Find
Bucic Offline
Member

Posts: 145
Threads: 27
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 3
#5
Solved: 3 Years, 9 Months, 1 Week ago RE: CTD in wine cellar map

The official installer from Humble Bundle is in .sh format. I have no idea how to install such files in Fedora. I'll try as per http://freshtutorial.com/install-sh-file-linux/

First I uninstalled my current install of amnesia (backed up the profile folder first!) this way:
yum search amnesia
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
* fedora: sunsite.icm.edu.pl
* rpmfusion-free: ftp.icm.edu.pl
* rpmfusion-free-updates: ftp.icm.edu.pl
* rpmfusion-nonfree: ftp.icm.edu.pl
* rpmfusion-nonfree-updates: ftp.icm.edu.pl
* updates: ftp.wsisiz.edu.pl
updates/pkgtags                                                 |  333 B  00:00:00    
================================ N/S Matched: amnesia =================================
amnesia.x86_64 : The Dark Descent. First person horror adventure game

  Name and summary matches only, use "search all" for everything.


sudo yum remove amnesia
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, langpacks, presto, refresh-packagekit
Resolving Dependencies
--> Running transaction check
---> Package amnesia.x86_64 0:1.2.1-1 will be erased
--> Finished Dependency Resolution

Dependencies Resolved

=======================================================================================
Package         Arch           Version         Repository                        Size
=======================================================================================
Removing:
amnesia         x86_64         1.2.1-1         @/amnesia-1.2.1-1.x86_64         2.3 G

Transaction Summary
=======================================================================================
Remove  1 Package

Installed size: 2.3 G
Is this ok [y/N]: y
Downloading Packages:
Running Transaction Check
Running Transaction Test
Transaction Test Succeeded
Running Transaction
  Erasing    : amnesia-1.2.1-1.x86_64                                              1/1
  Verifying  : amnesia-1.2.1-1.x86_64                                              1/1

Removed:
  amnesia.x86_64 0:1.2.1-1                                                            

Complete!

Then I executed the official installer from Humble Bundle:
cd ~/Downloads/
chmod +x amnesia_tdd-1.2.1-3.sh
amnesia_tdd-1.2.1-3.sh
And a graphic installer started...

EDIT:
Initial test shows such problem doesn't occur with Amnesia installed using the official installer from Humble Bundle.

Grphc mods
[Image: moddb_88x31_v12.png]
(This post was last modified: 02-17-2013, 09:22 PM by Bucic.)
02-17-2013, 08:47 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)