Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Game shows only blackness
Guest
Unregistered

 
#11
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

I'm having the same issues with the slight difference that yesterday I couldn't start the game and now after an update it starts but shows nothing but a blacck screen, I can still hear sounds and such so I believe it's just something with the graphics?
09-24-2015, 01:58 PM
Reply
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#12
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

What is your OS X version?
(This post was last modified: 09-24-2015, 02:20 PM by jens.)
09-24-2015, 02:10 PM
Website Find Reply
Guest
Unregistered

 
#13
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

I'm having the same issues with the slight difference that yesterday I couldn't start the game and now after an update it starts but shows nothing but a blacck screen, I can still hear sounds and such so I believe it's just something with the graphics?

Lol sorry for the double post, Currently I'm running 10.8.5 , I've checked and my setup and it meets the minimum requirements you have set for playing Soma, tho not the recommended.

Do you need any more info?

Lol sorry for the double post, Currently I'm running 10.8.5 , I've checked and my setup and it meets the minimum requirements you have set for playing Soma, tho not the recommended.

Do you need any more info?
09-24-2015, 02:16 PM
Reply
AaronKOG Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 57
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#14
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

If you still have this issue please post the text from Steam's System Information dialog (Steam->Help->System Information) Thanks.
09-25-2015, 06:57 AM
Find Reply
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,093
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#15
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

Also make sure to test the beta version of SOMA. Right-click SOMA in steam, pick properties, beta tab and select beta from drop down menu.
09-25-2015, 08:26 AM
Website Find Reply
Guest
Unregistered

 
#16
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

I've tried the Beta version, it just did the same thing, started up and stayed black but with sound.

Here is the info from the System information dialog:

Spoiler below!

Processor Information:
Model: iMac11,3
Vendor: GenuineIntel
CPU Family: 0x6
CPU Model: 0x1e
CPU Stepping: 0x5
CPU Type: 0x0
Speed: 2930 Mhz
8 logical processors
4 physical processors
HyperThreading: Supported
FCMOV: Supported
SSE2: Supported
SSE3: Supported
SSSE3: Supported
SSE4a: Unsupported
SSE41: Supported
SSE42: Supported

Network Information:
Network Speed:

Operating System Version:
MacOS 10.8.5 (64 bit)

Video Card:
Driver: ATI Radeon HD 5750

Driver Version: 1.2
Driver Date: 0 0
OpenGL Version: 2.1
Desktop Color Depth: 32 bits per pixel
Monitor Refresh Rate: 0 Hz
VendorID: 0x1002
DeviceID: 0x68a1
Number of Monitors: 1
Number of Logical Video Cards: 1
Primary Display Resolution: 2560 x 1440
Desktop Resolution: 2560 x 1440
Primary Display Size: 23.46" x 13.19" (26.89" diag)
59.6cm x 33.5cm (68.3cm diag)
Primary VRAM: 1024 MB

Memory:
RAM: 4096 Mb

Miscellaneous:
UI Language: English
Microphone: Not set
Media Type: DVD
Total Hard Disk Space Available: 953049 Mb
Largest Free Hard Disk Block: 403853 Mb

Installed software:
Acquisition
Adium
Adobe Reader
Age of Empires III
Amnesia
Amnesia Demo
Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs
aMSN
Anslutning till fjärrskrivbord
Anteckningar
App Store
Applet Launcher
Army Operations 2.0
Aspyr License
Automator
Awesomenauts
BankID säkerhetsprogram
Battlefield 1942
Battlefield 1942 The Road To Rome
BFBC2
Bildinsamling
BitTorrent
BlackFire
BlackPlague
Borderlands 2
Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare
Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare Multiplayer
Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare [k'd]
CD Spin Doctor
Counter-Strike Global Offensive
Counter-Strike Source
Counter-Strike Source Beta
CrossOver
Disc Cover 3 RE
Disc Cover RE
DiscCatalogMaker RE
Display Eater
DivX Converter
DivX Player
Doom 3
Dota 2
DropDV
Easy Photo Print
Equation Editor
Event Manager
EXIF Viewer
EyeTV
FaceTime
Find Any File
FORCED
Game Center
GameRanger
Garry's Mod
Get Backup 2 RE
Google Earth
GP5
Graffiti Studio 2.0
Graffiti Studio 2.0 on the Web
Growl
Halo
Halo Universal 2.0.2 Updater (US)
Halo Universal 2.0.3 Updater (US)
HandBrake
Haunted Memories
HP Avinstallation
HP Scan 3
iFire
ImageBrowser
iMovie HD
Impulse Response Utility
Installationsassistenten för Microsoft Office
Internet Explorer
iShowU
Jar Bundler
Java VisualVM
Kalender
Killing Floor
Killing Floor Mod Defence Alliance 2
Kom-ihåg-lappar
Kontakter
Konverteraren för öppna XML-format
Launchpad
Left 4 Dead 2
Left 4 Dead 2 Add-on Support
LimeWire
LimeWire At Login
Live
Logic Node
Logic Pro
Logitech Gaming Software
Mac2Tivo
MacTubes
MainStage
March of War
MCDU
Meddelanden
Microsoft Alerts Daemon
Microsoft Chart Converter
Microsoft Clip Gallery
Microsoft Database Daemon
Microsoft Database Utility
Microsoft Document Connection
Microsoft Excel
Microsoft Graph
Microsoft Messenger
Microsoft Office-påminnelser
Microsoft Outlook
Microsoft PowerPoint
Microsoft Query
Microsoft Upload Center
Microsoft Word
Minecraft
MinecraftSP
MiniTerm
Mission Control
MobileSync
My Day
NetUpdate
Office365Service
OnyX
Open XML for Excel
Outlast
Påminnelser
Path Of Exile
Penumbra
PenumbraDemo
PlayOnMac
Portal 2
Portal 2 Publishing Tool
POSTAL 2
Print CD
Read Me
Readme
Realm of the Mad God
RealPlayer
Reason
Register Your Game
Remote Desktop
Requiem
Robocraft
Scribbles
SerialSeeker
ShellShock Live
Skype
Skyrim Preferences
Solver
SOMA
Soundtrack Pro
Spin Doctor
Spotify
Steam
StellarPhoenix
StepMania
SuperDuper!
SyncServicesAgent
Team Fortress 2
TeamSpeak 3 Client
Technical Support
The Elder Scrolls V Skyrim
The Penumbra Collection
The Sims™ 3
The Walking Dead
The Walking Dead Season Two
This War of Mine
TiVo Transfer
Toast Titanium
Uninstall Graffiti Studio 2.0
Uninstaller
UnRarX
Ventrilo
VLC
Vuze
Wineskin Winery


09-26-2015, 06:22 PM
Reply
AaronKOG Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 57
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#17
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

I am able to get past this point on an AMD Radeon HS 6630M Mac Mini. Are you still having issues? If so please post you hpl.log located here:

~/Library/Application Support/Frictional Games/SOMA

Thanks.
09-30-2015, 08:51 PM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,816
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 177
#18
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

By the way I'm still experiencing the original issue, even after deleting settings, going into beta and verifying files. The game starts, the audio of the intro and menu plays but the game is still black, in fullscreen and windowed.

10-17-2015, 02:23 AM
Find Reply
AaronKOG Offline
FG - Associate

Posts: 57
Threads: 0
Joined: Sep 2015
Reputation: 0
#19
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

(10-17-2015, 02:23 AM)Mudbill Wrote: By the way I'm still experiencing the original issue, even after deleting settings, going into beta and verifying files. The game starts, the audio of the intro and menu plays but the game is still black, in fullscreen and windowed.

If you are having a startup crash please post the crash dialog that Apple presents. If you are experiencing the black screen with sound then I'd like some more info as well. Do you ever see anything? No loading bar or anything? I'd also like to get an updated hpl.log. Thanks.
10-19-2015, 02:05 PM
Find Reply
Mudbill Offline
Muderator

Posts: 3,816
Threads: 59
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 177
#20
Solved: 3 Years, 2 Months, 4 Weeks ago RE: Game shows only blackness

The app never crashes, so no Apple log. As far as I know, it never shows anything. I can hear the sounds that it plays through the pre-menu and sticks around the menu. I guess I could try to shut it down normally if I'm lucky enough to navigate to the right button, because the hpl.log hasn't really put forth anything useful so far because I've had to force-shut the app down, which terminates the log in the middle of it.

I can try the shut down in about an hour or two.

10-19-2015, 02:20 PM
Find Reply
Jump to the post that solved this thread.


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.

Human Verification
Please tick the checkbox that you see below. This process is used to prevent automated spam bots.



Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)