Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Demo instantly crashes
Borisjohnson Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#11
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

Hey there.
I have the exact same problem.

Deetz of OS

Model Name: MacBook
Model Identifier: MacBook4,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.1 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz
Boot ROM Version: MB41.00C1.B00
SMC Version (system): 1.31f0
Sudden Motion Sensor:
State: Enabled
10-02-2010, 01:04 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#12
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

What graphics card is there in it? From what year is this MacBook?

Chances are it is an integrated intel chip, which is not capable of running the game.
10-03-2010, 12:51 PM
Website Find
Borisjohnson Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
Reputation: 0
#13
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

Intel GMA X3100:

Chipset Model: GMA X3100
Type: Display
Bus: Built-In
VRAM (Total): 144 MB
Vendor: Intel (0x8086)
Device ID: 0x2a02
Revision ID: 0x0003

I believe it's a 2008 model.
10-04-2010, 04:20 AM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#14
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

That chipset is unfortunately not capable of running the game.
10-04-2010, 05:41 AM
Website Find
Hasana Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 0
#15
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

Hello!
I just downloaded the Demo and the same message appears to me:

Error!
Could not load the main init file: config/main_init.cfg

Why is this happening? Why can't I Launch the game? Sad

Here's my Mac info:

Mac OS X
Ver. 10.5.8
Nombre del modelo: MacBook
Identificador del modelo: MacBook4,1
Nombre del procesador: Intel Core 2 Duo
Velocidad del procesador: 2.4 GHz
Número de procesadores: 1
Número total de núcleos: 2
Caché de nivel 2: 3 MB
Memoria: 2 GB
Velocidad del bus: 800 MHz
Versión de la ROM de arranque: MB41.00C1.B00
Versión SMC (sistema): 1.31f0
Número de serie (sistema): W88221320P1
UUID de hardware: 41B65DCD-719D-552A-9389-4FAD14BD7A46
Sudden Motion Sensor:
Estado: Activado

(Sorry it's in spanish n_ñ It's my mother language)

Please help Sad
02-15-2011, 07:05 PM
Find
jens Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 4,095
Threads: 199
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 202
#16
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

You probably have an integrated graphics chip from intel, which is not supported.
02-15-2011, 07:17 PM
Website Find
billisdead Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#17
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

Hello,

I wanted to buy this game, but I've got the same exact problem with the demo. So I've read your investigations and :

- knowing I'm running this : G5 1.8GHZ - 1Go ram- NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra (AGP 8X Pro) video card 64 Mo (Powermac7.2)

- will it work if I replace my video card by this one : Sapphire - HD4650 - Carte graphique ATI - HM PCI-E - HDMI - DVI-I - VGA W - 1 Go DDR2 - VRAM

Thank youuuuuuu for your answers.
03-01-2011, 12:57 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#18
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

Second graphic card, HD4650 is a good card that you can run most of the games fluently.

03-01-2011, 01:13 PM
Website Find
billisdead Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 6
Threads: 1
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
#19
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

(03-01-2011, 01:13 PM)Tanshaydar Wrote: Second graphic card, HD4650 is a good card that you can run most of the games fluently.


Last question, but not least ... Powermac G5 accepting only AGP8x ports for video card, will this be sufficient :

http://www.macway.com/fr/product/4621/at...p-mac.html


?

By the way, thank you for your help.
03-02-2011, 12:03 PM
Find
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#20
Solved: 2 Years, 3 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Demo instantly crashes

AGP is a very old technology, you should think about a new mainboard, with PCI port.
There are still good AGP cards, however I don't recommend any of them. It's old technology.

I'm not a hardware expert, but with a little more funding, you can build a decent gaming pc.

03-02-2011, 12:19 PM
Website Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)