Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Lantern power change
DannieWest Offline
Member

Posts: 156
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#1
Lantern power change

I was wondering if there is a possibility to make a specific lantern have twice the power compared to the regular one everyone has? For example: I start with a lantern, then I find another lantern which replaces my current one, but this one have twice the light power!
05-24-2011, 11:39 PM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#2
RE: Lantern power change

I don't think so.
First, you will have to use same lantern model.
Second, those values are bound to game.cfg file which specifies the amount of oil used at a moment.

05-25-2011, 12:08 AM
Website Find Reply
DannieWest Offline
Member

Posts: 156
Threads: 13
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#3
RE: Lantern power change

Oh, okay :o Just curious, could've maybe been fun to see how it would've been if you collected some thalers and then you could open a chest with those finding an even more powerful lantern, for experimenting Smile Though with the first lantern like half the current power, cuz if there is to much light it won't be that scary anymore :o
But oh well, thanks anyways =)
05-25-2011, 12:38 AM
Find Reply
Streetboat Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,098
Threads: 40
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 56
#4
RE: Lantern power change

Sure, it's possible. People have changed the lantern to the flashlight from penumbra, after all. You need to make it a total conversion, though. It wouldn't work as a simple standalone custom story.

[Image: signature-2.png]
05-25-2011, 01:07 AM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#5
RE: Lantern power change

(05-25-2011, 01:07 AM)Streetboat Wrote: Sure, it's possible. People have changed the lantern to the flashlight from penumbra, after all. You need to make it a total conversion, though. It wouldn't work as a simple standalone custom story.

He is asking to replace the lantern in-game. Not a conversion or base content. Which is not possible at the moment.

(This post was last modified: 05-25-2011, 01:09 AM by Tanshaydar.)
05-25-2011, 01:09 AM
Website Find Reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#6
RE: Lantern power change

You can make it so it has twice the light, but you can't have both types of lanterns in one game. Well, it might be possible to replace the old one with the new one once you pick it up, but I'm not sure if that would work.
(This post was last modified: 05-25-2011, 02:10 AM by MrBigzy.)
05-25-2011, 02:09 AM
Find Reply
vcplz Offline
Member

Posts: 115
Threads: 3
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 1
#7
RE: Lantern power change

what about the new lantern model it can have double the light power

i think it was the bullseye lantern or something
or would you have to replace the lantern item/entity
05-25-2011, 03:45 AM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#8
RE: Lantern power change

To double the resource, a new model is not needed.
It's not up to Model Editor either.

(This post was last modified: 05-25-2011, 03:31 PM by Tanshaydar.)
05-25-2011, 10:51 AM
Website Find Reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#9
RE: Lantern power change

By power I'm assuming he means twice the radius, not twice the oil...
05-25-2011, 02:49 PM
Find Reply
Tanshaydar Offline
From Beyond

Posts: 3,085
Threads: 17
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 67
#10
RE: Lantern power change

Could be, but it's same. We still need another lantern model which needs to replace the actual models where impossible to do in-game.

05-25-2011, 03:31 PM
Website Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)