Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems
Hardarm Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 891
Threads: 39
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 43
#21
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

No. they won't work.

And in penumbra overture I see them patrolling area Sad also too much xD

listen to boards of canada
07-11-2011, 12:41 AM
Website Find Reply
Hardarm Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 891
Threads: 39
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 43
#22
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

Ok look:

void  OnStart()
{
AddEnemyPatrolNode("lolwut", "PathNodeArea_105",5, "");
AddEnemyPatrolNode("lolwut", "PathNodeArea_147", 5, "");
SetPlayerMoveSpeedMul(1.5);
SetPlayerRunSpeedMul(1.5);
SetPlayerLookSpeedMul(1.5);
CreateEntityAtArea("lolwut", "character_infected.ent","ScriptArea_4",true);
PlayMusic("Benny Hill - Yakety Sax.ogg", true, 10,2, 0, true);
}

This is my test for the dog.
I KNOW there's the character_infected.ent, but if you create an entity to an area, it won't load pathnodes I think. I mean, you can't put the dog in the editor, but if you add it from CreateEntityAtArea it won't load pathnodes, I tried with the infected too...

Now i'll try with the grunt.

listen to boards of canada
(This post was last modified: 07-11-2011, 04:14 PM by Hardarm.)
07-11-2011, 03:02 PM
Website Find Reply
palistov Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,208
Threads: 67
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 57
#23
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

Try creating the path node file for a grunt (just place a grunt in the editor), then re-naming accordingly. It's a shot in the dark, but you never know Smile

07-11-2011, 03:16 PM
Find Reply
Hardarm Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 891
Threads: 39
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 43
#24
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

I tried...
Maybe you have to find a way to place the dog in the editor...
And then it will work Big Grin


With CreateEntityAtArea, I tried with grunt, infected, brute:

Pathnodes won't work like that. :S

Maybe the dog hasn't got any issue, but must find a way to put it in the editor.

listen to boards of canada
(This post was last modified: 07-11-2011, 04:23 PM by Hardarm.)
07-11-2011, 03:26 PM
Website Find Reply
nkmol Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 252
Threads: 19
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 4
#25
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

i think i know why does it crash. It's because the model is exported whith the main .dae exporter. And not whith the OPENCollade, which is used for Amnesia serie.
i'll try to get it in the model editor Tongue
i got the model in the model editor, sadly i cant move the model Sad really strange, cant re-size, rotate or move it Sad

[Image: dogmk.png]

as you can see i can't move his teeth in his mounth...
(This post was last modified: 07-17-2011, 02:26 PM by nkmol.)
07-17-2011, 02:08 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#26
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

can you give me the opencollada file and check it out? I fixed yesterday some other model teeth in something else that I "made".
07-17-2011, 03:41 PM
Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#27
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

Guys I fixed the dog problems. I need to test it first though a liitle-bit more and add sounds. It works in the editor as well. The previous model is f*** up
07-17-2011, 05:40 PM
Find Reply
Jordo76 Offline
Member

Posts: 57
Threads: 7
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
#28
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

(07-17-2011, 05:40 PM)plutomaniac Wrote: Guys I fixed the dog problems. I need to test it first though a liitle-bit more and add sounds. It works in the editor as well. The previous model is f*** up

Take the animations and sound from mine (in the .ent)
07-17-2011, 06:41 PM
Website Find Reply
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#29
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

The way you edited the .ent file is not recommended. The animations were not correct and certain corrupted or added for no reason. I fixed everything and now only the sound is missing. The dog is still idiotic though. The same happened with infected of course. These are conversions after all.

I wrote these on the main thread:

I fixed the dog completely, removed corrupted files, fixed animations and extensions and run speed. Also the model is now visible in the level editor, no crashes. Right now I am adding sounds. Tomorrow I will release the fixed dog. It is based on Everlone's work but pretty much everything was made from scratch again by using the real penumbra files.
(This post was last modified: 07-17-2011, 06:46 PM by plutomaniac.)
07-17-2011, 06:46 PM
Find Reply
nkmol Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 252
Threads: 19
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 4
#30
RE: Adding a Penumbra Monster /!\ 1 New Problems

plutomaniac, that's really great! :O
you did some hard and clever work Wink
great job!
07-17-2011, 08:03 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)