Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Post Reply 
Start mining machine?
Author Message
Rocker Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Question Start mining machine?

Can anyone tell me how I get the big yellow mining machine started?

I've wired up the control box, stuck the key in and still no joy ?

Great game, really enjoying it.
03-30-2007 01:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Magus Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 10
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Start mining machine?

Spoiler below!
You need to put gas in it too, but the lid on the gas can is rusted shut. Combine the gas can with the hammer to open it, then throw it into the digging machine.
03-30-2007 02:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rocker Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Start mining machine?

Magus Wrote:
Spoiler below!
You need to put gas in it too, but the lid on the gas can is rusted shut. Combine the gas can with the hammer to open it, then throw it into the digging machine.

Thanx for your help. I don't see a gas can, do I fetch it from somewhere?
03-30-2007 02:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Demens Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Start mining machine?

Rocker Wrote:
Magus Wrote:
Spoiler below!
You need to put gas in it too, but the lid on the gas can is rusted shut. Combine the gas can with the hammer to open it, then throw it into the digging machine.

Thanx for your help. I don't see a gas can, do I fetch it from somewhere?

Here ya go.
Spoiler below!
The gas can found from the storage room, same place where you found the key.
If i remember right, it's in the room that has that steam-leak in front of it
03-30-2007 03:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hairysammoth Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Start mining machine?

Rocker Wrote:
Magus Wrote:
Spoiler below!
You need to put gas in it too, but the lid on the gas can is rusted shut. Combine the gas can with the hammer to open it, then throw it into the digging machine.

Thanx for your help. I don't see a gas can, do I fetch it from somewhere?

Yes, it's in the same area as the key - in a room blocked off by steam pipes. You need to
Spoiler below!
use a crane to stack boxes to get to an air vent on a "shelf" halfway up the wall (at least, I assume that's what you're meant to do - I made a fancy-pants ramp out of a box and a couple of pallets. Gotta love emergent gameplay!). The gas can is in the room at the far end of the vent.

//edit: Curses, beaten Big Grin
03-30-2007 03:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rocker Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Start mining machine?

Damn, I missed that. Thanx guys!
03-30-2007 04:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
raffa
Unregistered

 
Post: #7
RE: Start mining machine?

Hi!

Did anyone else here had troubles powering up the control box?
It seems that i've encountered some rare strange bug - the damn plug just doesn't go into the socket! I'm holding it in my arm and pushing but it just doesn't go.

Am i missing some trick in here?
If someone could email me the savegame with the controls powered up - i would be very greateful for that!
(i've got the key and the canister by the way)

my email is olegst@bytecity.ru

thanks is advance!
(This post was last modified: 03-30-2007 11:28 PM by RANDWILL.)
03-30-2007 11:27 PM
Quote this message in a reply
hairysammoth Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Start mining machine?

raffa Wrote:Hi!

Did anyone else here had troubles powering up the control box?
It seems that i've encountered some rare strange bug - the damn plug just doesn't go into the socket! I'm holding it in my arm and pushing but it just doesn't go.

Am i missing some trick in here?
If someone could email me the savegame with the controls powered up - i would be very greateful for that!
(i've got the key and the canister by the way)

my email is olegst@bytecity.ru

thanks is advance!

Gah, probably not - you don't even need to push, the plug automatically clicks into place if you get close enough. Maybe it's the wrong way round (I'm not sure if that makes any difference...) - have you tried using the other end? Or is it already plugged in?

Otherwise... you may need to load an old save Sad
03-30-2007 11:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
barf0r Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 47
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Start mining machine?

One end goes into the control panel. The other goes into the power source at the back of the room. Make sure you are doing these both, and with the correct ends.
(This post was last modified: 03-31-2007 12:11 AM by juandering.)
03-31-2007 12:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
WindexGlow Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,108
Joined: Mar 2007
Reputation: -7
Post: #10
RE: Start mining machine?

Please post comments involving spoilers IN SPOILER TAGS.  

Please -REP me.
Honestly, please do. I want to see how low I can go!!
Ignore that error message too. Just ignore it and keep going to give me -rep.
03-31-2007 12:15 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)