Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Newsletter | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support


Thread Closed 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
HPL2 Editor Black Screen
Author Message
Gearhead Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

If I install the previous driver then Amnesia won't display properly (intel integrated graphics etc.)
The Map Viewer works and displays everything fine, but the level editor will just be a black box.
I've done a full, clean install of Amnesia and redownloaded the HPL editing suite and still nothing. I've even uninstalled my Intel HD Graphics completely and reinstalled it with the new drivers, so nothing should have been left behind and causing problems.

Also, I'm getting this in my hpl.log found in the redist folder:


ERROR: Unable to open config file 'MainEditorSettings.cfg'! Invalid filepointer returned!
ERROR: Unable to open config file 'C:/Users/rob/Documents/HPL2/LevelEditor.cfg'! Invalid filepointer returned!

I tried creating these files manually and putting them in their place but its not having it Sad
06-18-2011 04:58 PM
Find all posts by this user
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,015
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 172
Post: #12
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

Go to Documents and delete the folder HPL2. Redownload the editor files again and try again. It should work. A driver can't the problem for the editor.

Also, make sure that you have java installed. I think the editor is built on it but I'm not so sure...

[Image: L72ChX.png]
06-18-2011 07:58 PM
Find all posts by this user
Gearhead Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

I've done all that but still a black screen. Although, my hpl.log now only says it cannot find LevelEditor.cfg in my HPL2 folder.

Thanks for the help so far.
06-18-2011 08:10 PM
Find all posts by this user
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,015
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 172
Post: #14
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

Try my LevelEditor.cfg and report back. It is attached here...

Can you give me yours before replace it with mine to check what the problem is?

[Image: L72ChX.png]
(This post was last modified: 06-18-2011 08:18 PM by plutomaniac.)
06-18-2011 08:16 PM
Find all posts by this user
Gearhead Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #15
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

I've done that and still no difference.
I cleared out my hpl.log and saved it, then re-ran the level editor, and the hpl.log is still blank. It's not getting the missing files error anymore, and just not writing anything to the log.
06-18-2011 08:22 PM
Find all posts by this user
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,015
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 172
Post: #16
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

oh, I know what the problem is. Go to:

C:\Users\--YOUR-USER-NAME--\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\Amnesia - The Dark Descent\redist (or in whatever folder Amnesia is)

What do you see there? Delete the file MainEditorSettings.cfg and try again.

[Image: L72ChX.png]
06-18-2011 08:49 PM
Find all posts by this user
Gearhead Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

What do I see there?
I deleted the MainEditorSettings.cfg and now the hpl.log says unable to open it, so it wasn't recreating it for me.

EDIT: i've attached the LevelEditor.log i found in the HPL2 folder.


Attached File(s)
.log  LevelEditor.log (Size: 5.68 KB / Downloads: 35)
(This post was last modified: 06-18-2011 08:58 PM by Gearhead.)
06-18-2011 08:56 PM
Find all posts by this user
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,015
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 172
Post: #18
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

How is that possible? It should recreate it. The first time you installed the editor these files were not there. It created them. Why can't it do it now? I'm getting crazy here! Smile

Administrator rights doesn't help, right?

[Image: L72ChX.png]
06-18-2011 10:18 PM
Find all posts by this user
Gearhead Offline
Junior Member

Posts: 23
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

Always been running as admin. I've made everything writeable and I've tried it in different compatibility modes (Windows XP SP1&2). Did you look at the leveleditor.log I attached to the previous post?

It's not fair Sad
06-18-2011 10:22 PM
Find all posts by this user
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,015
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 172
Post: #20
Solved: 8 Months, 3 Weeks, 1 Day, 11 Hours, 24 Minutes, 7 Seconds ago RE: HPL2 Editor Black Screen

Yes I did, it looks just fine. No errors at all. Tell me, your current problem is what? At the beginning it was the black box, now? Do you have java installed?

[Image: L72ChX.png]
(This post was last modified: 06-18-2011 11:15 PM by plutomaniac.)
06-18-2011 11:14 PM
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 




User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)