Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Penumbra Overture does not load - steam
Gamemakingdude Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Threads: 82
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 9
#1
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

Hi, i am running Penumbra overture and it worked fine before but i uninstalled it and reinstalled it. Now it shows im in an game then it just closes and i get no window or anything whatsoever.
ok now i get an error when running it directly from the exe


The procedure entry point alcGetString could not be located in the dynamic link library OpenAL32.dll

Rep if like me or im helpful or you love my stories!
Stephanos house
(This post was last modified: 10-31-2011, 09:58 AM by Gamemakingdude.)
10-31-2011, 09:52 AM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#2
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

Make sure Penumbra is updated to v1.1 and that you have the latest OpenAL driver installed:

http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/default.aspx
10-31-2011, 09:42 PM
Find
Gamemakingdude Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Threads: 82
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 9
#3
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

I installed openal and i think it updated to 1.1. but the still doesnt work.

Rep if like me or im helpful or you love my stories!
Stephanos house
11-01-2011, 05:50 AM
Find
Gamemakingdude Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Threads: 82
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 9
#4
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

bump!

This also happens with Penumbra Black Plaque

Rep if like me or im helpful or you love my stories!
Stephanos house
(This post was last modified: 11-01-2011, 02:53 PM by Gamemakingdude.)
11-01-2011, 02:09 PM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#5
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

does it still show the same OpenAL error?
11-01-2011, 05:55 PM
Find
Gamemakingdude Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Threads: 82
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 9
#6
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

Nope fixed the Black plaque but not the Overture. And it still did the same for the overture.

Rep if like me or im helpful or you love my stories!
Stephanos house
11-02-2011, 01:33 AM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#7
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

what operating system and graphics card do you have?
11-02-2011, 04:06 PM
Find
Gamemakingdude Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 470
Threads: 82
Joined: Nov 2010
Reputation: 9
#8
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

Windows 7 64 bit and Nvidia GeForce GT540M with 2gb

Rep if like me or im helpful or you love my stories!
Stephanos house
11-03-2011, 03:42 PM
Find
plutomaniac Offline
Super Moderator

Posts: 6,368
Threads: 45
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 183
#9
Solved: 4 Years, 6 Months, 3 Weeks ago RE: Penumbra Overture does not load - steam

make sure you have this installed:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/notebook-wi...river.html
11-03-2011, 04:11 PM
Find




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)