Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
message help
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#31
RE: message help

(01-12-2012, 02:23 AM)flamez3 Wrote: I'm pretty sure that you not having the .hps file in the same folder that the map is located at is the problem, move the map over to your maps folder for now and see if it works.
Okay well I tested it the way you suggested, and it worked, but only the first time I entered the area. How do I get it to show every time I enter the area?

Do I have to change between dev mode and move the files every time I want to test lang file messages?



Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
(This post was last modified: 01-12-2012, 02:27 AM by eagledude4.)
01-12-2012, 02:24 AM
Find Reply
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#32
RE: message help

Read my edited post. There is only a way to see if a function is working. Does anything else like your description on your Custom Story work?

01-12-2012, 02:26 AM
Find Reply
Statyk Offline
Schrödinger's Mod

Posts: 4,390
Threads: 72
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 241
#33
RE: message help

Try testing it while not in Dev Mode. I know for some reason, my messages don't show up in dev_mode. Don't know why... It just doesn't.
01-12-2012, 02:36 AM
Find Reply
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#34
RE: message help

(01-12-2012, 02:26 AM)flamez3 Wrote: Read my edited post. There is only a way to see if a function is working. Does anything else like your description on your Custom Story work?
Yes, but only when playing the custom story version.

(01-12-2012, 02:26 AM)Statyk Wrote: Try testing it while not in Dev Mode. I know for some reason, my messages don't show up in dev_mode. Don't know why... It just doesn't.
You're a bit late, I've already confirmed that it works while not in dev mode.

I find it irritating that it doesnt >.<





Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
(This post was last modified: 01-12-2012, 02:46 AM by eagledude4.)
01-12-2012, 02:44 AM
Find Reply
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#35
RE: message help

(01-12-2012, 02:44 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: Yes, but only when playing the custom story version.


Are you making a total or full conversion? I have no idea why it is not working. If it helps my category name is "Messages" and the Entry name is "Hint". Once again, I don't think that has anything to do with it but it's worth a shot.





01-12-2012, 03:44 AM
Find Reply
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#36
RE: message help

I don't know what either of those terms mean. I get the message to display only when playing the custom story, and not while testing the map while in dev mode. The message only shows when I enter the area for the first time, not any times after that.

Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
01-13-2012, 03:40 AM
Find Reply
flamez3 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,281
Threads: 48
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 57
#37
RE: message help

(01-13-2012, 03:40 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: I don't know what either of those terms mean. I get the message to display only when playing the custom story, and not while testing the map while in dev mode. The message only shows when I enter the area for the first time, not any times after that.
That's because you put at the end 1 in the callback in void OnStart(). Change it to a -1 and it will replay every time you go in it.

01-13-2012, 05:13 AM
Find Reply
eagledude4 Offline
Member

Posts: 144
Threads: 14
Joined: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
#38
RE: message help

(01-13-2012, 05:13 AM)flamez3 Wrote:
(01-13-2012, 03:40 AM)eagledude4 Wrote: I don't know what either of those terms mean. I get the message to display only when playing the custom story, and not while testing the map while in dev mode. The message only shows when I enter the area for the first time, not any times after that.
That's because you put at the end 1 in the callback in void OnStart(). Change it to a -1 and it will replay every time you go in it.
Ah, okay thanks.



Its hard to see the truth when you've been blinded by lies.
01-13-2012, 05:14 AM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)