Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Problems with custom models
Henriksen Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Threads: 71
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 2
#1
Problems with custom models

Hi, just got the model into 3ds max and exported it to .dae successfully. It does show up in the model editor when I import the mesh, however it lacks the textures. And how do I make it into a placable object?
(This post was last modified: 06-19-2012, 10:20 AM by Henriksen.)
06-18-2012, 05:45 PM
Find Reply
Your Computer Offline
SCAN ME!

Posts: 3,456
Threads: 32
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 235
#2
RE: Problems with custom models

All textures must have a corresponding material file with the same file name as the texture. (Note: file extension is not part of file name.) Simplest way to generate a material file is by loading your model into the ModelView program.

Tutorials: From Noob to Pro
06-19-2012, 01:01 AM
Website Find Reply
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Posts: 3,256
Threads: 73
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 185
#3
RE: Problems with custom models

Wait wait wait wait wait wait wait, your exported your MODEL and as a .dds?

Mother of god.

Alright, so what you need to do is export your textures as .dds and place them somewhere within your amnesia directory, then use the materialeditor.exe to create a .mat file using the same name and location as your .dds files, like this.

example_diffuse.dds
example_specular.dds
example_diffuse.mat

Now in your 3D modeling suite ( 3D's max ) Create a new standard material and add a bitmap to it, the bitmap should be example_diffuse.dds located within your amnesia directory.

Now export your model as a DAE and it should work fine.
06-19-2012, 07:44 AM
Find Reply
Henriksen Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Threads: 71
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 2
#4
RE: Problems with custom models

(06-19-2012, 07:44 AM)Traggey Wrote: Wait wait wait wait wait wait wait, your exported your MODEL and as a .dds?

Mother of god.

Alright, so what you need to do is export your textures as .dds and place them somewhere within your amnesia directory, then use the materialeditor.exe to create a .mat file using the same name and location as your .dds files, like this.

example_diffuse.dds
example_specular.dds
example_diffuse.mat

Now in your 3D modeling suite ( 3D's max ) Create a new standard material and add a bitmap to it, the bitmap should be example_diffuse.dds located within your amnesia directory.

Now export your model as a DAE and it should work fine.
Ops I meant as a .dae, sry for the confusion.

EDIT: How do I export my textures as .dds? They are currently in a .jpg and .png format.
(This post was last modified: 06-19-2012, 10:21 AM by Henriksen.)
06-19-2012, 10:19 AM
Find Reply
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Posts: 3,256
Threads: 73
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 185
#5
RE: Problems with custom models

There are plugins for Photoshop and The Gimp which lets you export as .dds
06-19-2012, 11:11 AM
Find Reply
Henriksen Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Threads: 71
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 2
#6
RE: Problems with custom models

(06-19-2012, 11:11 AM)Traggey Wrote: There are plugins for Photoshop and The Gimp which lets you export as .dds
I can't seem to get this working, is there any tutorials on making a model and getting it into the game?
06-19-2012, 12:48 PM
Find Reply
Traggey Offline
is mildly amused

Posts: 3,256
Threads: 73
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 185
#7
RE: Problems with custom models

Not as far as I know.
06-19-2012, 12:49 PM
Find Reply
Henriksen Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 308
Threads: 71
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 2
#8
RE: Problems with custom models

(06-19-2012, 12:49 PM)Traggey Wrote: Not as far as I know.
Ok, thanks anyway Smile

(06-19-2012, 01:01 AM)Your Computer Wrote: All textures must have a corresponding material file with the same file name as the texture. (Note: file extension is not part of file name.) Simplest way to generate a material file is by loading your model into the ModelView program.
The model viewer crashes when I try to open it, is there another way to generate a material file?
(This post was last modified: 06-19-2012, 03:17 PM by Henriksen.)
06-19-2012, 03:03 PM
Find Reply
Obliviator27 Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 792
Threads: 10
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 66
#9
RE: Problems with custom models

The Material Editor.

06-19-2012, 03:24 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)