Facebook Twitter YouTube Frictional Games | Forum | Privacy Policy | Dev Blog | Dev Wiki | Support | Gametee


Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Exporting animations from maya [solved] look here!
Thomas Offline
Frictional Games

Posts: 2,634
Threads: 184
Joined: Apr 2006
Reputation: 68
#31
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

Animations from Max is, as far as I know, not supported. This is because Max uses Z as up and I have only taken this into account for meshes. So Maya or some other program needs to be used for animation I'm afraid.
04-21-2011, 09:41 PM
Find Reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#32
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

Yea, I mentioned that before. But for some reason Maya isn't importing some bones properly, particularly root bones.

Edit: Nevermind, it works now. Maybe I picked the fbx_dae importer by accident... :V
(This post was last modified: 04-21-2011, 09:58 PM by MrBigzy.)
04-21-2011, 09:57 PM
Find Reply
Kraggdog Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#33
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

Just running the Collada setup for Maya it says that Maya isn't installed :/ Does anyone know where I can manually install it? (Not a blind self installer .exe Tongue)
04-21-2011, 11:49 PM
Find Reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#34
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

Hmm, I don't think there is one. :V

Are you sure you picked the right version? Theres 32 and 64 bit versions. Make sure it matches the version of maya (which most likely is the same as your OS)
04-22-2011, 06:34 PM
Find Reply
nkmol Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 252
Threads: 19
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 4
#35
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

Thanks for information Thomas and MrBigzy seems you're right Tongue

but it's possible to import 3Ds max files into maya or blender? (never used maya and blender much Tongue)
04-22-2011, 07:01 PM
Find Reply
MrBigzy Offline
Senior Member

Posts: 616
Threads: 18
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 8
#36
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

You can change the up axis in maya from Y to Z, so if you do that, yea it should be fine. Not sure about blender, I don't really use it. :V
04-22-2011, 07:09 PM
Find Reply
DonProtz Offline
Member

Posts: 99
Threads: 15
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 5
#37
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

nope blender console says error when i tried to import the dae files(animation)
thx for the infos to import in maya ^^
y blender can import 3ds

Hello my friend, stay a while and listen
(This post was last modified: 04-24-2011, 09:42 AM by DonProtz.)
04-22-2011, 08:51 PM
Find Reply
Kraggdog Offline
Member

Posts: 69
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
#38
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

I've tried both 64 and 32 bit 'just in case'. No Luck. I might try reinstalling Maya I suppose....
04-24-2011, 10:43 PM
Find Reply
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#39
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

MrBigzy, which version of maya / collada did you use? I think newer versions does not support the amnesia .dae files but I might be totally wrong.

------------------------------------------------------------------
-----> I was totally wrong Big Grin
edit2: Now I'm not sure :/

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


(This post was last modified: 04-28-2011, 09:27 PM by Acies.)
04-26-2011, 08:29 PM
Find Reply
Acies Offline
Posting Freak

Posts: 1,643
Threads: 60
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 73
#40
RE: Exporting animations from 3ds max causes issues

I am still having issues exporting in maya. Even if I import a default animation (eg. the grunt run animation) and then export it, that newly exported animation does not work. Does it have to do with the collada version? I'm using OpenCollada 1.3, but perhaps one must use the ColladaMaya 1.4 (as suggested by: http://wiki.frictionalgames.com/hpl2/thi...3d/blender )?

Edit: Managed to try Colladamaya 1.4.1 but it does not work either. If someone from frictional has the time to set up at tutorial or quickly describe to process of sucessfully exporting an animation I would greatly appreciate that Smile

[Image: mZiYnxe.png]


(This post was last modified: 04-29-2011, 05:30 PM by Acies.)
04-29-2011, 05:01 PM
Find Reply




Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)